NOTA Votes Rise in Delhi MCD Elections This Year, Over 8,300 More Than in 2017

In the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) elections this year, an increase in NOTA votes was recorded, which was 8,300 more than the votes recorded in the 2017 civic body polls. State Election Commission figures state that 57,545 votes, or 0.78% of the 7335,825 votes polled, were cast in the election held on 4 December. The said record is exactly 8,310 votes more than the 49,235 NOTA votes seen in 2017.

In the 2017 municipal elections, the vote share of NOTA was 0.69% of the 71,36,863 votes polled. Hindustan Times the report said on Wednesday. The NOTA votes recorded were more than the votes secured by the Nationalist Congress Party, Janata Dal (United) or all the smaller political parties. India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM), the State Election The report of the commission was shown.

The Aam Aadmi Party won the MCD elections with 134 seats, ending the BJP’s 15-year rule in the civic body. Delhi recorded 50.48 per cent voter turnout in the high-stakes municipal elections, the results of which could have ramifications beyond the national capital.

The NOTA votes recorded in the MCD elections this year were even higher than those recorded in the 2020 Delhi Assembly elections, when NOTA polled only 43,108 votes, or about 0.5% of the votes.

Smaller parties fielded candidates only in a limited number of seats while NOTA votes were cast in 250 municipal wards. NCP got a total of 14,890 votes (vote share of 0.20%), AIMIM got 45,628 votes (0.68%) and Janata Dal (United) got 11,480 votes (0.16%).

When elections were held for the three municipal corporations in 2017, the largest share (19,762, or 0.74% of the vote) of NOTA votes was cast in the North Delhi Municipal Corporation election.

The highest voter turnout (65.72 per cent) in the 2022 MCD elections was recorded in ward no. 5 (Bakhtawarpur), while the lowest polling percentage (33.74 per cent) was recorded in ward number 145 (Andrews Ganj), as per the data shared earlier by the State Election Commission.

read all latest politics news Here