India’s Smriti Mandhana, Harmanpreet Kaur, Renuka Thakur All Included in ICC Women’s ODI Team of the Year

Last Update: January 24, 2023, 4:23 PM IST

Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana (Photo: BCCI Women)

Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana (Photo: BCCI Women)

Star player Mandhana, skipper Kaur and fast bowler Thakur were all named in the Women’s ODI team of the year by the ICC, having helped the country register some memorable victories.

Three Indian cricketers Smriti Mandhana, skipper Harmanpreet Kaur and fast bowler Renuka Singh Thakur feature in the ICC Women’s ODI Team of the Year announced on Tuesday.

Mandhana, who scored an unbeaten 74 against West Indies Women in the T20 tri-series match on Monday, has shown remarkable consistency in scoring a century and six half-centuries for the calendar year 2022.

The left-handed batsman played a brilliant inning of 123 runs against the West Indies. World Cup in New Zealand, the 26-year-old followed it up with a 91 against England at Hove in September and then scores of 40 and 50 to end the year in fine form.

Read this also Hitman is back: Twitterati excited as Rohit Sharma ends his 3-year long century drought in ODIs

India skipper Harmanpreet hit two centuries and five half-centuries during the calendar year, the high point being her 143 not out against England in September.

Fast bowler Renuka, who made her ODI debut early last year, could not make it to the team India During his unsuccessful 50-over World Cup campaign in New Zealand, the XI took 18 wickets in seven matches in 2022, with his best of 4/28 coming against Sri Lanka at Pallekele in the middle of the year.

The 26-year-old right-arm bowler made her way into the ODI side on the back of impressive performances at the T20I level and ended the 2022 season as one of the most potent seamers in women’s cricket.

She ended the year with a four-wicket haul against England in September, indicating that she would be an India mainstay for years to come.

South Africa has overtaken the Indians in terms of number of players in the ICC ODI team. The list includes three Proteas players, prolific run-getter Laura Wolvaardt and fast bowlers Ayabonga Khaka and Shabnim Ismail.

Australia opener Alyssa Healy, who played a key role in the team lifting the ODI World Cup trophy in New Zealand last year, also figures in the list. The opener scored 129 in the semi-final against the West Indies and followed it up with a better performance of 170 in the final against England to help Australia win the title.

She finished the World Cup as the highest run scorer in the Women’s 50-over World Cup with her 509 runs.

ICC Women’s ODI Team of the Year:

Alyssa Healy (wk), Beth Mooney (Aus), Smriti Mandhana, Harmanpreet Kaur, Renuka Singh (India), Laura Wolvaardt, Ayabonga Khaka, Shabnam Ismail (South Africa), Nat Sciver, Sophie Ecclestone (England), Amelia Kerr (New Zeeland).

get the latest cricket news, the schedule And cricket live score Here

(This story has not been edited by News18 staff and is published from a syndicated news agency feed)