ICC T20I Team of The Year 2022 Announced: Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav And Hardik Pandya Make The Cut

Last Update: January 23, 2023, 3:22 pm IST

(From left) Suryakumar Yadav, Virat Kohli and Hardik Pandya (Agencies)

(From left) Suryakumar Yadav, Virat Kohli and Hardik Pandya (Agencies)

The T20I XI of the year is led by England captain Jos Buttler, who guided them to their second ICC T20 World Cup title win in Australia.

international Cricket ICC has named its T20I team of 2022 based on the outstanding performance of players representing countries across the world. The team, led by World Cup-winning captain Jos Buttler, includes three Indian players, two from Pakistan, two Englishmen and one each from New Zealand, Zimbabwe, Sri Lanka and Ireland.

Buttler had a year to remember as he took over as the full-time T20I captain of the England men’s team following the shock retirement of Eoin Morgan. And in his first ICC event as captain, the wicketkeeper-batsman led his team to a memorable title win, defeating Pakistan in the final.

Read also: Former Australia head coach feels Ashton Agar can be effective in India

has the maximum representation of the team from India with the batting pair of Virat Kohli And Suryakumar Yadav was joined by all-rounder Hardik Pandya in the eleven.

Kohli finished as T20 World Leading run-getter of the Cup with 296 runs including four half-centuries. They . also scored his first international century in the format against Afghanistan in the Asia Cup.

Suryakumar, on the other hand, was arguably the best batsman of 2022 as he scored 1164 runs at a blistering strike rate of 187.43, including two centuries and nine half-centuries.

Pandya was back to his best form last year as he scored 607 runs and also took 20 wickets. From time to time, he shone with bat and ball for his team, including a blistering half-century against England in the semi-finals of the World Cup, which helped India post a decent score.

Pandya has been included in the eleven by England’s Sam Curran as the second all-rounder. Curran took 13 wickets in the T20 World Cup in Australia and was also declared player of the tournament.

Read also: BCCI to earn around Rs 4000 cr from Women’s IPL bid

For Pakistan, wicketkeeper-batsman Mohammad Rizwan and right-arm pacer Haris Rauf have made the cut. Besides him, Wanindu Hasaranga (highest wicket-taker in T2 World Cup), Sikandar Raza and Josh Little have also made the cut.

ICC T20I team of 2022: Jos Buttler (c/wk), Mohammad Rizwan, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Glenn Phillips, Sikandar Raza, Hardik Pandya, Sam Curran, Wanindu Hasaranga, Haris Rauf, Josh Little

get the latest cricket news, the schedule And cricket live score Here