Disturbed Areas Act extended for 5 years in 8 areas of Surat

Chief Minister Vijay Rupani on Tuesday announced to extend the period of the Disturbed Areas Act by five years in eight police station areas of Surat city.

The State Government had implemented the Disturbed Areas Act in Athva, Salabatpura, Chowk Bazar, Mahidharpura, Sayyedpura, Lalgate police station areas with effect from October 17, 2017. Rander and Limbayat areas also came under the Act with effect from March 14, 2020. The action in all the eight police station areas will end by July 31.

Action on representation made by BJP From Surat MLA Purnesh Modi, Sangeeta Patil, Arvind Rana, and several BJP councilors and social leaders, Rupani had decided to extend the validity of the Act in these areas.

A press release issued by the state government said that it has been decided to reduce incidents like capture of properties through force or coercion by several notorious elements in these areas.


Leave a Reply