West Indies cricket team reaches Karachi amid heavy security to play T20I, ODI series – Henry’s Club

The West Indies cricket team arrived on a tour of Pakistan on Thursday, giving hope to local officials that bitter memories of the New Zealand tour will end. released on security grounds,

The Windies will play three Twenty20 and three One Day Internationals – all in Karachi – starting Monday, their first visit since 2018.

A Pakistani official said that the 26-member team had left for Karachi in the early hours of Thursday, after which it was taken to the team hotel amid tight security.

The series comes three months after New Zealand abandoned their first tour of Pakistan in 18 years, before the first match was due to start following a security alert.

then it was england decision to withdraw by their men’s and women’s teams, scheduled for October.

Pakistani officials were angered by the cancellation, arguing that the security measures had been called off.

After the terrorist attack on a bus carrying the Sri Lankan team in Lahore in 2009, the cricket-crazy nation went on a long period of time without an international team touring.

Pakistan was forced to play its home international matches overseas – mostly in the United Arab Emirates – until 2015 when normal service resumed.

West Indies are a bit weak, with regulars Evin Lewis, Shimron Hetmyer, Andre Russell and Lendl Simmons all out for personal reasons.

Former captain Jason Holder has been rested, while Fabian Allen and Obed McCoy are out with injuries.

Last week, captain Kieron Pollard also pulled out due to a hamstring injury, leaving the Twenty20 leadership in ODIs to Nicholas Pooran and Shai Hope.

Four players – Akeel Hossein, Sheldon Cottrell, Dominic Drakes and Odeon Smith – will join the squad later on Thursday.

The three T20 matches will be held on December 13, 14 and 16 while the ODIs will be held on December 18, 20 and 22.

T20 Team: Nicholas Pooran (c), Shai Hope, Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell, Dominic Drakes, Akeel Hossein, Brandon King, Kyle Meyers, Goodkesh Moti, Romario Shepherd, Odeon Smith, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr., Rovman Powell

ODI Team: Shai Hope (c), Nicholas Pooran, Darren Bravo, Shamra Brooks, Roston Chase, Justin Greaves, Akeel Hossein, Alzarri Joseph, Gudakesh Moti, Anderson Phillip, Ramon Reifer, Romario Shepherd, Odeon Smith, Hayden Walsh Jr., Devon Thomas