HomeVideosSportsShardul and Suryakumar made the cut but no room for Dhawan, Iyer...

Shardul and Suryakumar made the cut but no room for Dhawan, Iyer and Kuldeep

Batting legend Sunil Gavaskar has revealed his pick for India’s T20 World Cup squad, which is expected to be announced on Wednesday. Gavaskar has surprisingly dropped opener Shikhar Dhawan and middle-order batsman Shreyas Iyer from his list.

The BCCI is meeting today to pick a 15-man squad for the showpiece event in the United Arab Emirates starting next month. The tournament was scheduled to be held in India but was shifted to Oman (qualifiers) and UAE citing the monsoon season and coronavirus situation in the country.

Apart from two surprising omissions, Gavaskar’s list largely consists of those you would expect a team to be a part of. It is led by Virat Kohli, which includes Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Rishabh Pant, Kunal Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah.

Dhawan was named captain of India’s limited overs team for the tour of Sri Lanka in July this year. Iyer, on the other hand, has been out of action since March this year following a shoulder injury and is all set to make his competitive comeback in the second leg of IPL 2021, which will also be held in the United Arab Emirates.

Gavaskar, however, has included Suryakumar Yadav, Kunal Pandya, Washington Sundar (subject to fitness) and Shardul Thakur in his team.

Explained why he chose Krunal to become a commentator from cricketer till the game“He is an all-rounder, a very experienced player, he has done very well in the IPL for the last several years, so he definitely deserves a place. He is left-handed, which is also an advantage.”

The bowling department is led by Jasprit Bumrah along with Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, while Yuzvendra Chahal is the lone specialist spinner not to find a place in Kuldeep Yadav.

India will start its T20 World Cup campaign against Pakistan on 24 October.

Gavaskar’s India T20 World Cup squad: Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar (if fit), Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur and Yuzvendra Chahal.

get all IPL news and cricket score Here


- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments