RR vs RCB: With Slowest Hundred in the IPL History, Virat Kohli Inches Closer to Babar Azam’s T20 Record – News18

Virat Kohli gets closer to Babar Azam's T20 record

Virat Kohli gets closer to Babar Azam’s T20 record

Virat Kohli scored an unbeaten 113 against Rajasthan Royals, becoming the first batter to notch triple figures in the ongoing IPL 2024.

Ace batter Virat Kohli notched up his 8th IPL hundred on Saturday night in Jaipur. Batting against the Rajasthan Royals at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium, the former Royal Challengers Bangalore skipper reached his first triple figures this season, in 67 balls, with a single off Nandre Burger’s bowling in the 19th over of the innings. It was his third century in the last seven innings and his first against the Royals.

IPL 2024: RR vs RCB LIVE

Most hundreds in the IPL

8 – Virat Kohli

6 – Chris Gayle

5 – Jos Buttler

4 – KL Rahul

4 – David Warner

4 – Shane Watson

Stay updated with the latest from IPL 2024, including top contenders for the IPL 2024 Orange Cap and IPL 2024 Purple Cap. Explore the complete IPL 2024 ScheduleIPL 2024 Points Table and players with the Most SixesMost Fours and Most Fifties in IPL 2024

Most Century in T20 Cricket

The remarkable knock took him past former Australia batter Michael Klinger on the list of most hundreds in the shortest format of the game. With 9 centuries, he is only behind Pakistan captain Babar Azam (11) and Universe Chris Gayle who is way ahead with 22 tons in T20 Cricket.

Chris Gayle – 22

Babar Azam – 11

Virat Kohli – 9

Michael Klinger – 8

David Warner – 8

Aaron Finch – 8

Kohli’s highest score in IPL

Kohli carried his bat after RCB were asked to bat first on Saturday. He smashed 4 sixes and 12 boundaries during his 113-run unbeaten knock off 72 balls against the Royals. Surprisingly, he matched his own best score in the IPL which he scored back in 2016 against Kings XI Punjab (now Punjab Kings).

Kohli’s 100-plus Scores in IPL

113* vs Rajasthan Royals, 2024

113 vs Kings XI Punjab, 2016

109 vs GL, 2016

108* vs Rising Pune Supergiants, 2016

101* vs Gujarat Titans, 2023

100 vs Gujarat Lions, 2016

100 vs Kolkata Knight Riders, 2019

100 vs Sunrisers Hyderabad, 2023

ALSO READ | ‘Something to do with Opposition’: Sanju Samson’s Smart Reply After Opting to Chase vs RCB – WATCH

Slowest Century of IPL History

Interestingly, it was Kohli’s 67-ball century that happens to be the slowest scored in IPL history. Also, he matched his former teammate Manish Pandey’s feat from the 2009 season against the now-defunct Deccan Chargers. Pandey became the first Indian to score a century in the IPL, taking 67 deliveries to reach the feat.

Virat Kohli – 67 balls vs Rajasthan Royals, 2024

Manish Pandey – 67 balls vs Deccan Chargers, 2009

Sachin Tendulkar – 66 balls vs Kochi Tuskers Kerala, 2011

David Warner – 66 balls vs KKR, 2010

Jos Buttler – 66 balls vs MI, 2022

Kevin Pietersen – 64 balls vs Deccan Chargers, 2012