Maria Russa and Dmitry Muratov awarded the Nobel Peace Prize

New Delhi: The Norwegian Nobel Committee has awarded the 2021 Nobel Peace Prize to Maria Resa and Dmitry Muratov for their efforts to protect freedom of expression, a precondition for democracy and lasting peace.

2021 Peace Prize winners Maria Russa and Dmitry Muratov have been awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for their courageous fight for freedom of expression in the Philippines and Russia.

Read also | Nobel Prize in Literature 2021: Tanzania’s Abdulrajak Gurna wins Nobel for ‘non-compromising under the influence of colonialism’

The Nobel Prize organization said they are representatives of all journalists who stand up for this ideal in a world where democracy and freedom of the press continue to face adversity.

Maria Resa uses freedom of expression to highlight the abuse of power, use of violence, and growing authoritarianism in her native country, the Philippines.

Dmitry Muratov has for decades defended freedom of speech in increasingly challenging circumstances in Russia.

Elaborating on Maria Resa’s work, a tweet on the organization’s official Twitter handle read: “Nobel laureate Maria Resa expression to highlight the abuse of power, use of violence and growing authoritarianism in her native Philippines.” In 2012, he co-founded Rappler, a digital media company for investigative journalism.

“As a journalist and Rapper’s CEO, Nobel Peace Prize laureate Maria Rassa has shown herself to be a fearless defender of freedom of expression. The Rapper focused critical attention on the controversial, murderous anti-drug campaign of the Duterte regime is,” it added.

“Novaza Gazeta’s fact-based journalism and professional integrity have made it an important source of information on blasphemous aspects of Russian society that are rarely mentioned by other media. Since the newspaper’s inception, six of its journalists have been killed,” the Nobel Prize organization said.

“Despite the killings and threats, Novaja Gazeta editor-in-chief Dmitry Muratov has refused to abandon the newspaper’s independent policy. He has consistently defended the rights of journalists.”

About the Nobel Peace Prize

Between 1901 and 2020, the Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded 101 times to 135 laureates – 107 individuals and 28 organizations.

The International Committee of the Red Cross has received the Nobel Peace Prize three times – in 1917, 1944 and 1963 – and the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees has been awarded the prize twice (1954 and 1981).

In 2020, the Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to the World Food Program (WFP) “for efforts to combat hunger, for contributing to better conditions for peace in conflict-affected regions, and for acting as a driving force in efforts to prevent it.” for” was awarded. The use of hunger as a weapon of war and conflict”.

The Nobel Peace Prize was not awarded 19 times in the history of the Nobel Prize.

The Nobel Peace Prize in India came in 1979 when Mother Teresa was awarded “for her work to help suffering humanity”.

In 2014, India’s Kailash Satyarthi and Pakistan-born Malala Yousafzai were jointly given the award “for their struggle against the oppression of children and youth and the right of all children to education”.