Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Sunil Barve To Gaurav More, Marathi Artists Vote In Phase 5 – News18

The voting began at 7 am in Maharashtra and will conclude at 6 pm.

The voting began at 7 am in Maharashtra and will conclude at 6 pm.

Polling in the fifth phase of the Lok Sabha elections is going on in Mumbai.

The Lok Sabha elections are going on in phases across the country. Voting is being exercised in each constituency by both the general public and celebrities. Polling for the fifth phase of the Lok Sabha elections is underway in Mumbai. The voting began at 7 am in 24,553 polling centres in Maharashtra and will conclude at 6 pm.

In the same vein, prominent Marathi artists made their way to the polling stations early in the morning to cast their votes.

Actor Sunil Barve, along with his family, exercised his right to vote in Mumbai and emphasised the importance of voting. Similarly, actress Spruha Joshi not only cast her vote but also encouraged others and appealed to participate in the electoral process.

Actress Aditi Sarangdhar was among the early voters and reached the polling station in the morning to cast her vote. She shared a photo post-voting to inspire her followers. Sukanya Mone also participated in the election and proudly shared a photo of her inked finger.

Veteran actress Supriya Pathare exercised her right to vote and urged everyone to fulfil their civic responsibility to vote. Rijuta Deshmukh also shared a photo of herself after voting at the polling station and said, “I voted, you should too.”

Actor Gaurav More made an early appearance at the polling station to cast his vote. Veteran actor Prashant Damle also voted and joined the list of Marathi artists who exercised their democratic rights. A photo of him at the police station is circulating.

Among the seats going to the polls, 13 are in Maharashtra, 14 in Uttar Pradesh, seven in West Bengal, five in Bihar, three in Jharkhand, five in Odisha, one in Jammu and Kashmir, and the lone seat in Ladakh. Despite having the least number of seats out of all the phases, this round is crucial for the BJP, as more than 40 seats are held by the National Democratic Alliance (NDA).

Earlier in the day, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh and Union Minister Smriti Irani also cast their votes in this election. Political leaders such as BSP chief Mayawati and key candidates like Piyush Goyal; major names from Bollywood like Akshay Kumar, Farhan Akhtar, and Zoya Akhtar; and industrialist Anil Ambani came in early to cast their vote.

In a post on X, Prime Minister Narendra Modi urged voters to cast their vote. He wrote, “As 49 seats across eight states and UTs go to the polls today in the 5th phase of the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, urging all those whose constituencies are polling today to vote in record numbers…”