IND vs IRE: Captaincy brings out the best in them, says Hardik Pandya ahead of T20I matches

Image Source: Twitter

Hardik Pandya in action

Hardik Pandya has admitted that the responsibility of leading a team brings out his best performance on the cricket field, when he was made the captain of Gujarat Titans in their first season. IPL,

Hardik has been named the captain of the Indian team for the two-match T20I series against Ireland starting on Sunday.

The matches are to be held on June 26 and June 28.

The all-rounder believes in taking ownership while on the field.

Hardik said, “Earlier also, I loved taking responsibility and now I am the same but now it is a bit more responsibility. I always believed that when I took responsibility I did better.”

“If I can take ownership of my things and make my own decisions, then they are strong. Cricket is such a game, it is very important to stay strong during the circumstances.

“I have always been given responsibility and I have taken it and that’s why I got better. While captaining, I will see how I can give equal responsibility to every player and give them the ability to fight the conditions,” he said.

talking about the lessons from M S Dhoni And Virat KohliHe said that every captain has his own style.

“Obviously I have taken a lot of things from them (Dhoni and Kohli) but at the same time I want to be myself, obviously I have a different understanding of the game but I have taken a lot of good vibes from them.
He said, “I am not comfortable, but I tend to look at situations more than I go on my stomach. I focus on what decisions the team requires, rather than going on my stomach. The gut always goes 50-50,” he said.
“I’ve got a chance to lead India. That’s a big deal in itself. If I’m good enough, I don’t play sports to show anybody. I was always the same.”

Complete Squad:

Indian squad for Ireland T20 series: Hardik Pandya (C), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (vc), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Sanju Samson, Rahul Tripathi, Deepak Hooda, Venkatesh Iyer, Axar Patel, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Umran Malik, Arshdeep Singh, Yuzvendra ChahalRavi Bishnoi

(Inputs from PTI)