‘Have Informed BCCI About my Decision’: ‘Mr IPL’ Suresh Raina Likely to Begin New Innings Away from India

Former Indian all-rounder Suresh Raina is likely to ply his trade in the T20 leagues across the globe. One of the prominent faces in the Indian Premier League (IPL), Raina couldn’t find a buyer at the mega players’ auction earlier this year. Surprisingly, even Chennai Super Kings didn’t bid for the player who had brought laurels for them in the past.

According to a Dainik Jagran report, Raina is likely to bid farewell to the IPL as he is looking forward to playing in T20 leagues in South Africa, Sri Lanka and UAE. He will also not play for his state Uttar Pradesh in the upcoming domestic season.


“I want to continue playing cricket for two or three years. There are some exciting youngsters who are coming through the ranks of Uttar Pradesh cricket. I have already taken my No Objection Certificate (NOC) from the Uttar Pradesh Cricket Association (UPCA). I have informed BCCI secretary Jay Shah and vice-president Rajiv Shukla about my decision,” Raina was quoted as saying by Dainik Jagran.

The former Indian cricketer will join the team led by master blaster Sachin Tendulkar in the upcoming edition of the Road Safety World Series, starting September 10.

“I will play in the Road Safety Series. T20 franchises from South Africa, Sri Lanka and UAE have contacted me but I am yet to take any decision,” said Raina.

Back in 2020, Raina drew curtains on his international cricket. He made the announcement less than an hour after MS Dhoni announced his on August 15. Raina was part of the Indian team which won the 2011 World Cup and 2013 Champions Trophy under Dhoni’s leadership.

Raina’s international career spanned 13 years during which he played 18 Tests, 226 ODIs and 78 T20Is for India. He even got an opportunity to captain the team and delivered desired results. He has  5615 runs from 226 ODIs and 1605 from 78 T20Is for India.

Fondly known as Mr IPL, Raina retired as Raina the first Indian to slam hundreds in all three formats of the game, all of which were scored outside India.

Get the latest Cricket News, Schedule and Cricket Live Scores here