England Announce Limited-overs Squads For Bangladesh Tour; Tom Abell, Rehan Ahmed Get Call-ups

Last Update: February 02, 2023, 20:29 IST

Uncapped Tom Abel was on Thursday included in England’s ODI and T20 squads for the tour of Bangladesh.

Abel, who captained the England Lions ODI team against Sri Lanka, also recently made an appearance in the SA20 in South Africa. He bats in the middle order and can contribute with the ball as well.

The 28-year-old led Somerset’s batting charts in the County Championship 2022 with 1039 runs at 51.95 and also featured in the Lanka Premier League, Sri Lanka’s domestic T20 league, in December.

Read also: ‘Virat Kohli can try and be a bit more aggressive vs spinner’

Meanwhile, young leg-spinner Rehan Ahmed was also included in the white-ball squad for the first time. The teenage leg-spinner impressed on his Test debut in Karachi last December, taking seven wickets at 19.57.

England fast bowler Saqib Mahmood, who last featured in the Test squad against the West Indies last year, made a comeback into the ODI squad. The Lancashire player has 14 ODI wickets at an average of 19.92.

Jofra Archer, who recently made his international comeback against South Africa, has also found a place in both the teams. Ben Stokes, Harry Brook and Ollie Stone have been left out since being included in the Test squad to play against New Zealand in late February.

Alex Hales, who finished just behind Jos Buttler in the run-scoring charts for England in ICC Men’s T20s World Cup 2022, was also absent from the T20I squad. Ben Duckett and Will Jacks have been included in the T20I squad.

Read this also | india women vs south africa women 2023 final live Cricket Number

England will play three ODIs and three T20Is in Bangladesh from March 1, with all six matches taking place in Dhaka and Chattogram.

ODI squad: Jos Buttler (c), Tom Abel, Rehan Ahmed, Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer, Sam Curran, Saqib Mahmood, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Phil Salt, Reece Topley, James Vince, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood .

T20 squad: Jos Buttler (c), Tom Abel, Rehan Ahmed, Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer, Sam Curran, Ben Duckett, Will Jacks, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Phil Salt, Reece Topley, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood .

get the latest cricket news Here

(This story has not been edited by News18 staff and is published from a syndicated news agency feed)