Did 3rd Umpire Get Dhruv Jurel Run-out Wrong as Well After Dinesh Karthik ‘Shocker’? Here’s what the Law Says – News18

Cameron Green enforced the run-out to rid of Dhruv Jurel, (Screengrab)

Cameron Green enforced the run-out to rid of Dhruv Jurel, (Screengrab)

Did the third umpire get another Rajasthan Royals’ decision wrong again? Here’s what the rules say.

As the tension rises in the eliminator clash between the Rajasthan Royals and Royal Challengers Bengaluru in the 2024 edition of the Indian Premier League’s playoff fixture at Ahmedabad, RR’s Dhruv Jurel’s run-out has become another point of contention which has brought the officiating under the spotlight.

During the second innings, both RR batters, Riyan Parag and Dhruv Jurel were involved in a big mixup which saw the latter being run out. While Jurel was clearly not within the crease Virat Kohli had made the throw from the deep but Cameron Green didn’t fully take the ball while breaking the stumps which was a debated topic on social media.

The former Mumbai Indians pacer, Mitchell McClenaghan took to his official handle on X (formerly known as Twitter) where he voiced his concern about the potential oversight once again shown by the third-umpire.

READ MORE: RR’s Head Coach Kumar Sangakkara Furious With Dinesh Karthik’s Dismissal Being Reversed by DRS – WATCH

He said,” Always thought you had to have the ball held in your hand to cause a runout… have the rules changed?”

READ MORE: RR vs RCB, IPL 2024 Eliminator: ‘Ee Sala Cup Namde’ Remains a Distant Dream as Royal Challengers Bengaluru Knocked Out

However, the official IPL playing conditions document that is available on the official website clearly states that the batter can be deemed run-out if,” the ball rebounding off a fielder’s person”

Screengrab – IPLT20.com

So as per the rules Cameron Green’s action would count as the ball rebounding off a fielder’s person which means that he would be out in this case.

However, the concern with regards to the officiating came about after the third umpire’s blunder in the first innings where he overturned the on-field umpire’s dismissal of Dinesh Karthik via LBW where the ball was clearly hitting the pads first and would have gone on to hit the stumps as well.

Due to the ultra-edge spiking, the TV umpire thought that the ball had been hitting the pads which did not seem to be the case as there was a significant gap between the bat and the ball to suggest otherwise.

Stay updated with the latest from IPL 2024 , including updated list of Orange Cap In IPL 2024 and Purple Cap. Explore IPL Match Today . Check IPL 2024 Points Table and players with the Most Sixes , Most Fours ,Most Fifties And Most Hundreds In IPL 2024.