Comedy of Errors! 3 Bangladesh Slip Fielders Fail to Take Simple Catch | WATCH – News18

Last Updated: March 31, 2024, 16:12 IST

Najmul Hossain Shanto, Shahadat Hossain Dipu and Zakir Hasan after dropping a catch (X)

Najmul Hossain Shanto, Shahadat Hossain Dipu and Zakir Hasan after dropping a catch (X)

Najmul Hossain Shanto, Shahadat Hossain Dipu and Zakir Hasan all failed to hold on Prabath Jayasuriya’s catch in the slips.

Three Bangladesh fielders combined but still dropped an easy catch in the slip as Sri Lanka’s Prabath Jayasuriya got the luckiest break on day two of the second Test at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram on Sunday.

Jayasuriya was comically dropped by three slip fielders as neither could hold on to the ball. Skipper Najmul Hossain Shanto at 1st slip, Shahadat Hossain Dipu at 2nd slip and Zakir Hasan at 3rd slip, all tried but failed to hold on to a simple catch.

Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka: 2nd Test, Day 2 – LIVE


Earlier, Dhananjaya de Silva missed out on his third consecutive century in the series. Kamindu Mendis remained unbeaten as Sri Lanka were bowled out 531 in the second Test against Bangladesh.

The visitors had reached 476-7 by tea on the second day, with Mendis, who smashed a century in both innings in the first Test, remaining unbeaten on 54, the sixth fifty in the Sri Lankan innings.

De Silva, like Mendis, who also scored a century in both innings of the first Test, raised a similar prospect before he was dismissed for 70 in the post-lunch session in Chittagong.

Prabath Jayasuriya added to the misery of Bangladesh, making 28 before he was dismissed on the stroke of tea.

Follow all the action from IPL 2024, including the IPL 2024 Schedule and IPL 2024 Points Table. Also, check Players vying for IPL 2024 Orange Cap and IPL 2024 Purple Cap 

Bangladesh managed to take just three wickets in two sessions after Sri Lanka resumed their innings with 314-4 in the morning.

Dinesh Chandimal was the only batsman to be dismissed in the first session, edging Shakib Al Hasan behind the stumps after making 59 runs.

De Silva joined Nishan Madushka (57), Dimuth Karunaratne (86) Kusal Mendis (93) and Chandimal as Sri Lanka’s fifth half-centurion with a boundary off Taijul Islam.

Khaled Ahmed trapped De Silva leg before in the first over after the lunch break, ending his chance to become the fourth Sri Lankan to get a hundred in three consecutive innings, after Aravinda de Silva, Mahela Jayawardene and Kumar Sangakkara.

Khaled could have taken another wicket in his next if Jayasuriya was not comically dropped by three slip fielders on six.

Mendis was declared caught behind on 35 off Mehidy Hasan Miraz, but the decision was reversed after review.

Mendis brought his fifty off 99 balls with a single off Mehidy.

Shakib hit Jayasuriya plumb in front to end his 65-run seventh wicket stand with Mendis.

Sri Lanka won the first Test in Sylhet by 328 runs, with de Silva making 102 and 108 in the two innings.

(With inputs from Agencies)