Champions League winners Kante, Jorginho selected for UEFA award

Chelsea duo N’Golo Kante and Jorginho have been shortlisted for the UEFA Men’s Player of the Year award for the 2020/21 season along with Manchester City star Kevin De Bruyne, European football’s governing body announced on Thursday.

The winner will be revealed next Thursday, 26 August at a ceremony in Istanbul, when the draw for this season’s Champions League will also take place.

Midfield pair Jorginho and Kante both saw Chelsea beat City of De Bruyne 1-0 in the Champions League final in Porto in May. Jorginho then helped Italy win Euro 2020.

The shortlist was selected by a jury made up of coaches from the 24 national teams that participated in Euro 2020, 80 coaches from clubs that played in the group stages of the previous season’s Champions League and Europa League, plus one from each. Journalists too. Out of 55 member associations of UEFA.

Chelsea’s Thomas Tuchel was selected for the Coach Award along with Manchester City’s Pep Guardiola and Roberto Mancini, who led Italy to European Championship glory.

The three players shortlisted for the women’s award are Jennifer Hermoso, Lique Martens and Alexia Putelas, all of whom have won the Champions League with Barcelona.

Catalan club Louise Cortés was shortlisted for the Women’s Coach Award along with Peter Gerhardsson, who won an Olympic silver medal with Sweden, and Emma Hess of Chelsea, the English Women’s Super League champion and Champions League runner-up.

The women’s awards were voted on by the coaches of the clubs who reached the last 16 of the Women’s Champions League and the coaches of the top 12 women’s national teams, along with a panel of journalists.

read all breaking newshandjob breaking news And coronavirus news Here


Leave a Reply