‘Best Team Selected’: Ravi Shastri Impressed With India’s Squad For World Test Championship Final

India has announced the squad for the WTC final (AFP Image)

India has announced the squad for the WTC final (AFP Image)

Shastri took to Twitter and wrote that the selectors have picked the best Indian team.

Former India head coach Ravi Shastri has given his verdict on the Indian squad for the World Test Championship final against Australia, which will be held from June 7-11 at The Oval, London. BCCI announced a 15-man squad for the one-off Test match against Pat Cummins & Co. This will be India’s second attempt to get their hands on the WTC Final trophy as they had earlier lost to New Zealand in the final. inaugural edition.

Veteran batsman Ajinkya Rahane has been called back into the Test set-up after a sabbatical of over a year. He last played for India in January 2022. He was dropped from the team after scoring 136 runs in six innings as India lost the series 2–1 against the Proteas, Rahane was dropped from the Test squad for the home series against Sri Lanka.

IPL 2023 Mark sheet: Check Team Standings, Team Points, Wins, Losses

The Asian giants will be missing Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant and Jasprit Bumrah in the mega clash as the trio is still recovering from their respective injuries.

Shastri took to Twitter and said that the selectors have picked the best Indian team.

“Best Indian team selected. Well done selectors and team management #WTCFinal2023 #TeamIndia,” tweeted Shastri.

The BCCI’s five-member selection panel, along with secretary Jay Shah and captain Rohit Sharma and Rahul Dravid, met on Monday evening to decide the squad.

Rahane’s return was as expected after 15 months after Shreyas Iyer’s back injury ruled him out of the grand finale. Iyer recently underwent a surgery in the UK to treat a stress fracture in his lower back.

Over the past year, Rahane has been consistent in the domestic circuit, scoring 50 runs in five innings, including an unbeaten 207 for West Zone. Meanwhile, in the Ranji Trophy, Rahane was Mumbai’s leading run-scorer with 634 runs in seven matches, including a double century against Hyderabad and 191 against Assam.

The rest of the team, led by Rohit Sharma, was as expected.

IPL 2023: purple cap Check out the full list of batsmen with the most runs here

KS Bharath is the lone specialist wicketkeeper while Ishan Kishan and Suryakumar Yadav, who were part of the home series against Australia, have been left out of the current squad.

India’s Test Team WTC Final: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, KL Rahul, KS Bharat (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat

get the latest cricket news, ipl 2023 live score, orange cap And purple cap holder details here