AAP: Aam Aadmi Party sweeps office in Punjab with heavy downpour. India News – Times of India

CHANDIGARH: “We urged the voters ‘jhadoo chalao’, unhone toh vacuum cleaner chala diya.” AAPRaghav Chadha succinctly expressed sentiments not only within the party, but also among voters and opposition parties, which had subsided. The Aam Aadmi Party, which promised quality health and educational services on the lines of Delhi, trounced caste, regionalism and Dera politics to win an overwhelming majority of 92 seats in the 117-member House.
The feudal Congress was reduced to 18 seats and the Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) got three seats, while the Bahujan Samaj Party and an independent got one seat each. The Samyukta Samaj Morcha, a political organization of peasant organizations, could not do much. Even its leader Balbir Singh Rajewal could not open the account.
Electoral landslide crushed many big leaders including former CM Charanjit Singh Channi, Parkash Singh Badal, Amarinder Singh and Rajinder Kaur Bhattal. Eleven of the Congress’s 18 cabinet ministers lost, as did the party’s state unit chief Navjot Singh. Sidhu, In fact, the 50% defeat margin of cabinet ministers was much higher than their victory margin in 2017. those who live are Sukhjinder Singh Randhawa (Dera Baba Nanak), Rana Gurjeet Singh (Kapurthala), Amrinder Singh Raja Warring (Gidderbaha), Pargat Singh (Jalandhar Cantonment), Aruna Chaudhary (Dinanagar), Sukhbinder Singh Sarkaria (Raja Sansi), and Tript Rajinder Singh Bajwa (Fatehgarh Churian). Rana Gurjit’s son Rana Inder Pratap Singh, who had contested as an independent from Sultanpur Lodhi, also won.
Soon after victory – in another state within a decade of AAP’s formation – party co-in-charge Punjab Raghav Chadha said, “AAP will emerge as the national and natural replacement of Congress in the coming days.”
After disillusionment with traditional parties, the AAP wave, inspired by the call for change, remained mostly silent. The announcement of Bhagwant Mann as the chief ministerial face helped consolidate his vote share in the crucial Malwa region. Congress’s bet on Channi to woo a large population of Scheduled Castes also did not make any significant gains among the voters. AAP’s appeal extended beyond Malwa as well, as it hit out at traditional parties for “plundering” the state and promising to crack down on the sand and liquor mafia while promising “Ik Chance” (a single chance) to revive Punjab. opportunity). The party won 16 out of 25 seats in Majha region and 10 out of 23 seats in Doaba. In 2017, AAP failed to win a single seat in Majha and managed only two seats in Doaba. In addition, the party won the Chandigarh municipal elections for the first time.
The AAP leadership also seems to have learned its lesson from the 2017 debacle, and made a conscious effort not to let its campaign climax too quickly, apart from keeping a safe distance from Punjabi NRI groups supporting fundamentalists .
“This time, many of AAP’s winning candidates played big killers, but they also realized that people voted for the party’s election symbol (broom). Similarly, many did not consider AAP in hot seats like Amritsar (East), Lehra and Patiala, but the broom magic worked,” said an AAP leader. Sidhu and Bikram Singh Majithia of SAD contested from Amritsar (East); Bhattal from Lehra and former CM Amarinder from Patiala (Urban).