Yogi Adityanath will contest from home turf Gorakhpur, a saffron stronghold since 1967

The BJP on Saturday announced that Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath will contest the upcoming Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections 2022 from the Gorakhpur urban constituency, which has been a stronghold of the BJP and the Jan Sangh since 1967.

Yogi Adityanath’s candidature was projected from three possible seats – Ayodhya, Gorakhpur Urban and Mathura and the BJP Parliamentary Board decided that the CM should be fielded from Gorakhpur Urban seat. Adityanath was also an MP from the Gorakhpur Lok Sabha seat from 1998 to 2017 until becoming the Chief Minister of UP.

Gorakhpur urban seat is extremely safe for BJP and is a stronghold of Yogi Adityanath with Gorakhnath temple, so CM will not have to spend much time in campaigning and can focus on rest of election strategy in UP as he is one of the top star campaigners. The BJP has fielded Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya from the Sirathu seat, which he won in 2012.

Earlier this month, News18.com was the first to report that the CM would contest and that Gorakhpur, Ayodhya and Mathura were in dispute. By contesting the election, Adityanath has now pressured his political opponents Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav, BSP supremo Mayawati and Congress’s UP in-charge Priyanka Gandhi Vadra to follow suit.

Reacting to this announcement of BJP, former Chief Minister Yadav said, ‘People had to send Yogi Adityanath back to Gorakhpur, but in front of the public, BJP has sent him back.

Yadav had earlier said that he would not contest the election, but had recently said that he would follow his party’s decision in this regard and contest from any seat.

However, Mayawati has made it clear that she will not contest the elections. There has been no talk from Priyanka Gandhi on this.

BJP leader Radha Mohan Das Agarwal has been a four-time MLA from Gorakhpur Urban seat since 2002 and won in 2017 by over 60,000 votes. Earlier BJP leaders Shiv Pratap Shukla and Sunil Shastri had held this seat from 1989 to 2002 and 1980 to 1989 respectively.

Earlier, the candidate of Bharatiya Jana Sangh was in this seat since 1967. Congress had won this seat in 1951, 1957 and 1962.

read all breaking news, today’s fresh news And coronavirus news Here.