Women’s U19 T20 World Cup: All-rounder Ashmini Munisar to Lead the West Indies

Batting all-rounder Ashmini Munisar was on Thursday named captain of the West Indies squad for the inaugural edition of the ICC Women’s Under-19 T20I. World The cup will be played in South Africa from January 14 to 29 next year.

Ashmini captained the West Indies team on their tour of the United States in August and in India last month, where they took part in a quadrangular series with Sri Lanka U19. India A and B U19 sides in Visakhapatnam.

fifa world cup 2022 points table , fifa world cup 2022 schedule , fifa world cup 2022 result , fifa world cup 2022 golden boot

“It is every cricketer’s dream to play for their country and captain their team, it is a huge honor that I get to do so in this historic inaugural ICC Women’s U19 World Cup. We have been playing together for the last few months and all the players are playing and progressing very well and we are all looking forward to representing the West Indies,” she said in an official statement.

The inaugural edition of the ICC Women’s U19 T20 World Cup will feature 16 teams playing 41 matches to be held in Benoni and Potchefstroom. The official practice matches will be held from January 9 to 11.

“The U-19 Girls’ T20 World Cup will be a historic event, the first of its kind in women’s international cricket. In preparation for this, the team left for a tour of the United States and the recent tri-series in India against the hosts and New Zealand.”

“These series have identified some capable up-and-coming batsmen such as Jenaba Joseph, Shunelle Shaw and Trishan Holder who are showing potential to transition to a higher level. We also had outstanding performances from our two main spinners, captain Ashmini Munisar and Shalini Samaru,” said lead selector Ann Browne-John.

West Indies are placed in Group C along with New Zealand, Ireland and Indonesia. They will begin their campaign against Ireland on January 15, followed by matches against Indonesia (January 17) and New Zealand (January 19). The top three teams from each group will advance to the Super Six round, where the teams will be placed in two groups of six.

“We have held training camps over the last few months and the preparations will culminate with the final camp being held in Antigua this month. This international experience will be hugely beneficial not only for this group of players, but also for the West Indies senior women’s team Will also act as an investment and feeder group,” Ain said.

Read this also | IND vs BAN: Mohammed Shami likely to miss Test series due to shoulder stiffness – report

The top two teams from each group in the Super Six stage will advance to the semi-finals, which will be played at the JB Marks Oval in Potchefstroom on January 27. The final will be held on January 29 at the same ground.

West Indies Team: Ashmini Munisar (Captain), Asabi Callender, Jahzara Claxton, Naijni Cumberbatch, Arnisha Fontaine, Genelia Glasgow, Realana Grimmond, Trishan Holder, Zaida James, Jenaba Joseph, KD Jazz Mitchell, Shalini Samaru, Shunelle Shaw, Leena Scott and Abini St. Jean

get the latest cricket news, Schedule And cricket live score Here