Watch: Rohit Sharma Sent to Hospital For Scans After Leaving Field With a Bloodied Finger

Rohit Sharma injured his finger while fielding in the slip cordon during the second ODI against Bangladesh in Dhaka on Wednesday. Rohit was at second slip when Mohammad Siraj took an outside edge off Bangladesh opener Anamul Haque but the Indian skipper dropped the catch and worse, injured his finger as well.

“India captain Rohit Sharma injured his thumb while fielding in the second ODI. He was assessed by the BCCI medical team. He has now gone for scans,” the BCCI tweeted on Wednesday.

The 35-year-old has been sent to a local hospital for X-rays to check for a possible fracture. In his absence, vice-captain KL Rahul is leading the team.

Rohit looked in pain as he held up his left hand, shaking his head in dismay and was hastily walking off the field to get some treatment on the webbing issue. Rajat Patidar was fielded in his place.

Till the time of publishing this story, he had not returned to the field.

It is also not known whether Rohit will bat during this period or not. India innings later in the day.

Rohit is part of the first series since India’s T20 semi-final loss to England World cup last month. Along with several senior players, he was rested from the limited overs tour of New Zealand just after the World Cup.

Meanwhile, it is a must win for India in the second ODI after losing the series opener by one wicket. Chasing 187, Bangladesh were reduced to 136/9 before Mehidy Hasan Miraj found an able ally in Mustafizur Rahman as he steered his side to a thrilling victory.

Miraj remained unbeaten on 38 off 39 balls, while Mustafizur scored an unbeaten 10 to put on a match-winning 51-run partnership.

During the toss, Rohit informed that India has kept fast bowler Kuldeep Sen out for the second ODI. Later, it emerged that he had a back problem and hence was replaced by Umran Malik in the playing XI.

India XI: Rohit Sharma (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Mohammed Siraj, Umran Malik

get the latest cricket news, Schedule And cricket live score Here