Vijay Shankar to lead Tamil Nadu in Ranji Trophy; 3 Newcomers to the Squad

Chennai all-rounder Vijay Shankar will lead Tamil Nadu in the Ranji Trophy matches to be played in Ahmedabad while MS Washington Sundar will be his deputy. The squad includes three new players – medium pacers R Silambarasan and P Saravana Kumar, besides batsman B Sai Sudarshan. The team has a strong batting line-up that includes the in-form B Aparajith and B Inderjit, N Jagadeesan, M Kaushik Gandhi and Sudarshan besides the power-hitting M Shah Rukh Khan and captain Vijay Shankar.

Apart from Washington Sundar, the spin department consists of left-arm spinners R Sai Kishore, M Siddhartha and Aparajith, while Sandeep Warrier, M Mohammed, Silambarasan, Sarwan Kumar and Ashwin Krist, who are on the comeback, attack the pace. Veteran wicketkeeper-batsman Dinesh Karthik is not available for the Ranji Trophy.

According to S Vasudevan, the head of the selection panel, it is a balanced team and it should do well. “It’s a well-balanced team. They should do well in the Ranji Trophy this year.”

He further added that Dinesh Karthik was not available for the tournament. Tamil Nadu started their Ranji campaign in Elite Group ‘B’ on 13 January 2022 with a match against Jammu and Kashmir. The state team won the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy before finishing as runners-up in the Vijay Hazare Trophy 50-over tournament. Finished last Sunday.

Squad: Vijay Shankar (Captain), MS Washington Sundar (Vice Captain), B Indrajit, B Aparajith, N Jagadeesan, M Shah Rukh Khan, B Sai Sudarshan, Pradosh Ranjan Paul, L Suryaprakash, M Kaushik Gandhi, V Ganga Sridhar Raju, Sandeep Warrier, M Mohammed, R Silambarasan, P Saravana Kumar, A Ashwin Krist, L Vignesh, R Sai Kishore, M Siddhartha and R Kavin.


get all IPL news and cricket score Here