UP government renamed Jhansi railway station as ‘Veerangana Laxmibai Railway Station’

New Delhi: The Uttar Pradesh government has changed the name of Jhansi railway station to Veerangana Laxmibai railway station. Recently, the state government had sent a proposal to the Ministry of Home Affairs to change the name of Jhansi railway station to ‘Veerangana Laxmibai Railway Station’.

For the oblivious, the Yogi Adityanath-led UP government had earlier changed the names of three major public places in the state: Allahabad was renamed Prayagraj, Mughalsarai was renamed Deen Dayal Upadhyay Nagar and Faizabad was renamed Ayodhya.

To change the name of any railway station or district, the state government needs to send an official proposal to the Ministry of Home Affairs.

Thereafter, the Ministry of Home Affairs consults with the agencies concerned as per the extant guidelines for change of name. The Ministry of Home Affairs approves the name change after obtaining NOC from the concerned departments and agencies.

First of all, Mughalsarai station located at a distance of 19 km from Varanasi Junction in UP was renamed as Pandit Deen Dayal Upadhyay Station. This station is located in the city of Mughalsarai in Chandauli district of Uttar Pradesh.

After this the name of Manduadih station of Varanasi was changed to Banaras station. Allahabad Junction was renamed as Prayagraj Junction and Naugarh Railway Station was renamed as Siddharthnagar by the UP government last year.

Historical Significance of Jhansi: Talking about India, Jhansi has historical importance. Rani Lakshmibai, also known as the Rani of Jhansi, became a symbol of resistance to the British Raj and fought them bravely with her small armed forces.