TMC candidate Jawahar Sarkar elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha

Jawahar Sarkar, the Trinamool Congress candidate for the state assembly bypolls, was on Monday declared elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha from West Bengal. After the deadline for withdrawal of candidature ended this afternoon and there were no further nominations from the opposition BJP and ISF, the government was declared elected unopposed and a certificate was handed over to the state assembly.

The BJP announced last week that it would not field any candidate for the by-elections to the upper house of Parliament, paving the way for the former Prasar Bharati CEO Sarkar to be elected without contesting from the state. Earlier this year, former TMC leader Dinesh Trivedi had vacated the Rajya Sabha seat, necessitating the August 9 bypoll.

TMC had announced his name for the Rajya Sabha bypolls last month. With the government holding the seat vacated by Trivedi, the TMC’s strength in the Rajya Sabha remains at 11, third behind the BJP’s 94 and the Congress’s 34.

read all Breaking News, breaking news And coronavirus news Here


Leave a Reply