Shadab Khan’s career-best 86 lifts Pakistan to 269-9 after Nicholas Pooran shock – Henry Club

All-rounder Shadab Khan hit a career-best 86 to take Pakistan to 269-9 after West Indies hero Nicholas Pooran took four wickets in the third and final One Day International (ODI) in Multan on Sunday.

Pooran swung his hand to score only 4-48 for the second time in his 43-match ODI career when Pakistan scored 85 to 117-5 for no loss, winning the toss and electing to bat.

It looked like captain Babar Azam’s innings for one had collapsed with a rare failure but Shadab played his bat brilliantly.

In the midst of a 60-minute dust storm that restricted the match to 48 overs, Shadab hit three sixes and four fours in 78 balls before bowling the last over.

He improved on his 54 against New Zealand in Wellington in 2018.

Helping spin the Multan Stadium pitch, Pooran propelled himself after Fakhar Zaman (35) and Imamul Haq (62) gave Pakistan solid starts.

Pooran took the wickets of Zaman, Haque, Mohammad Rizwan (11) and Mohammad Haris (nil) not taking more than one wicket in his first-class career in just 25 balls.

Haque hit seven fours and a six in 68 balls for his 14th ODI half-century. He became the second batsman to score seven or more fifties in consecutive ODIs.

Former Pakistan great Javed Miandad celebrated his 65th birthday on Sunday, setting the record for most fifties in 1987 with nine in consecutive ODIs.

In the midst of Pooran’s destruction, Azam’s leg fell before spinner Hayden Walsh scored a century and 77 in the first two games with just one run.

Shadab added 84 runs for the sixth wicket with Khushdil Shah (34) and 40 runs for the eighth wicket with Mohammad Wasim, who hit a six.

Pakistan, 2-0 up in the seriesHanded his ODI debut to pacer Shahnawaz Dahani and brought back Hasan Ali, resting Shaheen Shah Afridi and Haris Rauf.

Pakistan won the first match by five wickets and the other by 120 runs – both in Multan.

The West Indies included Casey Carty, Jaden Seals and Keemo Paul except Alzarri Joseph, Anderson Phillip and Brandon King.

Pakistan: Babar Azam (capt), Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Rizwan, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Nawaz, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Wasim Junior, Hasan Ali, Shahnawaz Dahani

West Indies: Nicholas Pooran (Captain), Shai Hope, Shamar Brooks, Akil Hossein, Kyle Meyers, Rovman Powell, Casey Carty, Jaden Seals, Keemo Paul, Romario Shepherd, Hayden Walsh Jr.