HomePoliticsSecond time attraction? Mamata Banerjee has pinned hope on Bhabnipur who...

Second time attraction? Mamata Banerjee has pinned hope on Bhabnipur who saved her face since its formation in 2011

as West Bengal Bhabnipur By-election on this seat, Trinamool Congress supremo for the second time in last 10 years Mamata Banerjee To save the chief minister’s chair, he has moved to his home seat.

The Bhabnipur constituency, created in 2011 after delimitation, has been a TMC stronghold since its inception. The Kalighat residence of the Chief Minister falls in this constituency.

According to Election Commission data, the TMC won 184 seats in the 2011 West Bengal Assembly elections, ending the 34-year-old Left Front rule.

Banerjee had not contested the election at that time. Party MLA and then minister Subrata Bakshi had given up the seat to make room for Banerjee, who was sworn in as chief minister. Then, Banerjee was seeking entry in the state assembly for the first time. She managed to save her CM’s chair after winning the by-election.

In the 2016 assembly elections, he retained the seat. In 2021, Didi decided to move to Nandigram – where she faced defeat, even though the TMC won 213 seats in the state. Banerjee lost to BJP’s Suvendu Adhikari – a former TMC leader – by a margin of 1,956 votes. The officer, a former close aide of the TMC chief, is now the Leader of the Opposition in the West Bengal Assembly.

Read also | TMC, BJP banner Bengal election spirit, why Nandigram is waiting with bated breath for Bhawanipur results

Despite losing her seat, Banerjee was sworn in as the chief minister of the state on 5 May. As per the rules, he again moved to his home seat to save his post. He has to be elected to the state assembly before November 5 to retain the chair.

The seat was won by the party’s Shobhandeb Chattopadhyay, who vacated the seat in May to make way for Banerjee to contest from the seat.

Decline in party’s vote share in Bhawanipur assembly constituency, margin of victory

TMC has won all the assembly elections held in Bhawanipur, but the party’s vote share and victory margin has shrunk. The party’s Subrata Bakshi won the 2011 election with 87,903 votes, which is 65 percent of the total votes. Election Commission data shows that the margin of victory was around 50,000 votes.

Read also | Great and Rich Land in History: Bhabanipur Provides Clues to Win By-Election on Sept 30

In the 2021 assembly elections, Shobhandeb Chattopadhyay won the seat with 73,505 votes, which was 57.71 per cent of the total votes. The margin of victory was just 28,719 votes.

Mamata Banerjee had won the seat in the 2011 by-elections with the highest margin of over 54,000. He garnered 73,635 votes, with 78 percent of the votes polled. However, in the 2016 assembly elections, he secured 65,520 votes – only 48 per cent of the total votes. Election Commission data shows that the margin of victory had dropped to 25,301 votes in 2016.

read all breaking news, breaking news And coronavirus news Here


- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments