Sanjay Arora appointed as new Delhi Police Commissioner

New Delhi: Sanjay Arora, a Tamil Nadu-cadre IPS officer, was on Sunday (July 31, 2022) appointed as the brand new Commissioner of Delhi Police. Arora, presently serving because the Director Basic of the Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP) Pressure, will take cost as Delhi Police’s high cop on Monday (August 1, 2022).

He’ll succeed Rakesh Asthana, a Gujarat-cadre IPS officer.

Based on an official order, the competent authority has accepted the inter-cadre deputation of Arora to the AGMUT cadre.

Who’s Sanjay Arora, Delhi Police’s new Commissioner?


Sanjay Arora is a 1988 batch Indian Police Service (IPS) officer from the Tamil Nadu cadre. He has a bachelor’s diploma in Electrical and Electronics Engineering from Jaipur’s Malviya Nationwide Institute of Know-how.

After becoming a member of the IPS, he served in varied capacities in Tamil Nadu Police. He was Superintendent of Police (SP), Particular Process Pressure, the place he achieved vital success towards the Veerappan gang, for which he was awarded CM’s Gallantry Medal for Bravery and Heroic Motion.

In 1991, Sanjay Arora, after being educated by NSG, had a pivotal function in forming the Particular Safety Group (SSG) to offer safety to the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu throughout the heydays of LTTE exercise.

He has additionally served because the Superintendent of Police in varied districts of Tamil Nadu.

Arora has served in ITBP on deputation as Commandant from 1997 to 2002. He commanded a border guarding ITBP Battalion in Matli, Uttarakhand from 1997 to 2000. As an teacher, Arora had made outstanding contributions within the area of coaching, serving as Commandant (Fight Wing) on the ITBP Academy, Mussoorie from 2000 to 2002.

Sanjay Arora has additionally served as Coimbatore Police Commissioner

Sanjay Arora has additionally served as Commissioner of Police, Coimbatore metropolis from 2002 to 2004. He was additionally the Deputy Inspector Basic of Police, Villupuram vary, and Deputy Director of Vigilance and Anti-Corruption.

He has led the Chennai Metropolis Police as – Further Commissioner – Crime & Headquarters and Further Commissioner – Site visitors. On promotion, he was appointed as ADGP (Operations) and ADGP (Administration) in Tamil Nadu Police.

He has served as IG (Particular Operations) BSF, IG Chhattisgarh Sector CRPF, and IG Operations CRPF. He has served as ADG HQ & Ops CRPF and Spl DG J&Okay Zone CRPF earlier than being appointed as DG, ITBP.

Sanjay Arora assumed cost of DG ITBP on August 31, 2021

Sanjay Arora assumed the cost of DG ITBP on August 31, 2021, because the thirty first Chief of the Pressure.

He has been awarded the Police Medal for Meritorious Service in 2004, President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service in 2014, Police Particular Responsibility Medal , Antrik Suraksha Padak and UN Peacekeeping Medal amongst others.