Punjab Elections: Congress Releases List Of 86; This is Sidhu Vs Amarinder in Amritsar (E). India News – Times of India

New Delhi: The Congress on Saturday released its list of 86 candidates for the Punjab Assembly elections.
Current Chief Minister Charanjit Channi will contest from the reserved Chamkaur Sahib seat. Punjabi singer Sidhu Musewala has been given ticket from Mansa.
Other prominent names in the Congress list include Pratap Singh Bajwa (Qadian), Sukhjinder Singh Randhawa (Dera Baba Nanak), Pargat Singh (Jalandhar Cantt).
although Amritsar East The seat, with the ‘Clash of the Titans’ contest on the cards, will likely grab everyone’s attention, where state Congress chief Navjot Singh Sidhu is the Congress candidate. He will be up against none other than former Congressman and former Punjab Chief Minister Amarinder Singh – his arch in the state’s politics.
The ‘Sidhu vs Amarinder’ saga dominated much of Congress’s politics in Punjab last year.
The Congress high command sided with Sidhu and appointed him as the party’s Punjab chief. It removed Amarinder from the post of Chief Minister, replacing him with Charanjit Singh Channi.
Amarinder has since left the Congress and formed his new outfit, Punjab Lok Congress, which has tied up with the BJP for the elections.