Punjab elections: Congress released the list of 80 candidates, CM Channi will contest from Chamkaur Sahib

New Delhi: With less than a month left for the Punjab Assembly elections, the Congress on Saturday released its list of candidates for 86 seats.

Punjab Chief Minister Charanjit Singh Channi will contest from Chamkaur Sahib assembly constituency, while state Congress chief Navjot Singh Sidhu has been fielded from Amritsar East.

The Grand Bhi party has also given ticket to Malvika Sood, sister of Bollywood actor Sonu Sood, who is in the fray from Moga assembly constituency.

Besides this, Congress has fielded Pratap Singh Bajwa from Kadian, Sukhjinder Singh Randhawa from Dera Baba Nanak and Sukhwinder Singh Sarkaria from Raja Sansi and Harminder Singh Gill from Patti assembly constituencies.

Congress has fielded Punjabi singer Shubhdeep Singh Sidhu alias Sidhu Moosewala from Mansa assembly constituency.

This comes a day after the Congress finalized the names of its candidates for the Punjab Assembly elections in the Central Election Committee meeting headed by party president Sonia Gandhi.

The electoral politics in Punjab has seen many changes since the 2017 assembly elections.

The Congress had won 77 seats in the 117-member Punjab Assembly in 2017, with Captain Amarinder Singh taking over as the chief minister.

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) had won 20 assembly constituencies, while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) alliance got 18 seats.

However, this time the equations have changed as Captain Amarinder Singh has resigned from his post and left the Congress after clashing with Sidhu, who was made the state party president.

The long-running BJP-SAD alliance also set aside three agriculture laws passed by the Center in 2020. The SAD has recently joined hands with the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP).

Polling for the Punjab Assembly will be held in a single phase on February 14. The results will be declared on March 10.