prayagraj: Women Won Just 7 Seats Of 28 In Prayagraj Region | Allahabad News – Times of India

Prayagraj: Out of 28 assembly seats Prayagraj region, including Prayagraj (12), Pratapgarh (7), Fatehpur (6) and Kaushambi (3) Only seven seats were won by women candidates, including two each in Prayagraj, Kaushambi and Fatehpur and one in Pratapgarh.
The winning women candidates include Congress’s Aradhana Mishra from Pratapgarh’s Rampur Khas seat, SP’s Usha Maurya from Fatehpur’s Hussaingang seat, BJP’s Krishna Paswan from Fatehpur’s Khaga assembly seat, Apna Dal (K)’s Pallavi Patel from Sirathu seat. Kaushambi).
Pooja Pal of SP from Chail assembly seat of Kaushambi, Geeta Shastri of SP from Soraon assembly seat of Prayagraj and Vijma Yadav SP’s women candidates are also included in Prayagraj’s Pratappur assembly seat.
In Prayagraj district, though women voters outnumbered men, only two of the 22 women candidates from political parties or independents could taste victory.
Interestingly, both Vijma Yadav and Geeta Shastri were from the Samajwadi Party.
There are total 46,27,545 voters in Prayagraj district, which include 25,16,850 males, 21,10,043 females and 652 transgenders. About 55.22% (11,65,256) female voters had cast their vote on February 27, while 52.68% (13,25,943) males had reached the polling stations.
The district had a turnout of 53.83 per cent with 24,91,208 voters, including 13,25,943 males, 11,65,256 females and nine transgenders.
Prayagraj district has 12 assembly segments —Meja, Karchhana, Allahabad North, Allahabad South, Allahabad West, Bara, Phaphamau, Koraon, Soroan, Phulpur, Handia and Pratappur.
Congress had fielded Manjoo Sant (Bara), Durgesh Pandey (Phaphamau), Alpana Nishad (Allahabad South), Rinki Patel (Karchana), Shalini Dwivedi (Meja), and Reena Devi (Handia).
Congress had fielded Aradhna Mishra (Rampur Khas), Beena Rani (Babaganj), and Seema Devi (Sirathu).
The BJP had fielded Neelam Karwaria (Meja), Sindhuja Mishra (Kunda) and Krishna Paswan (Khaga).
Samajwadi Party had fielded Usha Maurya (Hussainganj), Geeta Pasi (Soraon), Vijma Yadav (Pratappur), Puja Pal (Chail), Richa Singh (Allahabad West), Krishna Patel (Pratapgarh Sadar) and Pallavi Patel (Sirathu).
BSP had fielded Neetu Kanaukia from Manjhanpur seat in Kaushambi.