HomeVideosSportsOn This Day, India, Sri Lanka Share ICC Champions Trophy as Rain...

On This Day, India, Sri Lanka Share ICC Champions Trophy as Rain SpoilsSport

Indian cricket team fans can never forget what happened on 30th September 2002. Even after 110.4 overs and 2 days of action on the same day, no result in the final of the ICC Champions Trophy was possible. Rules, India and Sri Lanka were declared joint champions.

The ICC Champions Trophy 2002 took place in Sri Lanka and 12 teams took part in the tournament. The Indian team was in excellent form and under the leadership of Sourav Ganguly, the team defeated South Africa in the semi-finals while Sri Lanka defeated Australia.

India took on hosts Sri Lanka in the final held on 29 September. Sri Lanka batted first and scored 244 runs in the stipulated 50 overs at the Premadasa Stadium in Colombo. Captain Sanath Jayasuriya scored 74 runs while Kumar Sangakkara scored 54 runs.

Off-spinner Harbhajan Singh took 3 wickets for 27 runs for India. In reply, India scored 14 for no wicket in 2 overs and soon after the second over, rain intervened and the match was called off for the day.

However, as per ICC rules, the final resumed on 30 September, Reserve Day. Sri Lanka won the toss and decided to bat once again. This time Sanath Jayasuriya and Kumar Sangakkara were not able to repeat their performance. Mahela Jayawardene scored 74 and Russell Arnold scored 56 not out. Zaheer Khan took 3 wickets for 44 runs for India.

In reply, India were 38 for one in 8.4 overs when the game had to be stopped once again due to rain. Virender Sehwag remained unbeaten on 25 and Sachin Tendulkar scored 7 runs. Overall, 110.4 overs were bowled in two days, and even then, the trophy was to be shared between India and Sri Lanka.

get all IPL news and cricket score Here


- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments