No Indian player as captain named Babar Azam in ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Year

There is no Indian player in the ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Year for 2021 with Pakistan skipper Babar Azam named as the captain of the team announced on Wednesday. The team of the year announcements by the International Cricket Council (ICC) recognizes the best players in men’s cricket who have entertained everyone with their performances in a calendar year, with the bat, ball or both.

Azam was at his classy best in the shortest format in 2021, bringing up his best edition in the Men’s T20 World Cup, where he finished the tournament as the leading run-scorer with 303 runs in six innings at 60.60. finished as. Overall, Babar played 29 matches and scored 939 runs at an average of 37.56 with one century and nine half-centuries. His captaincy was also praised as he led his team to the semi-finals of the T20 World Cup in the United Arab Emirates and Oman was the only unbeaten side in Group 2.

Read also | IND vs SA, 1st ODI: Clinical South Africa beat rusty India by 31 runs

His opening partner, Mohammad Rizwan, who was named as the wicket-keeper in the eleven, reigned in the shortest format of the game in 2021. Rizwan scored 1326 runs in just 29 matches, striking at an average of 73.66 and a strike rate of 134.89. Apart from his exploits with the bat, he was as solid behind the stumps as ever, playing a key role in Pakistan’s semi-final access during the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021, where he finished as the third-highest run-scorer. ended in

Australia all-rounder Mitchell Marsh, whose unbeaten 77 led his team to victory in the final of the Men’s T20 World Cup in Dubai, found a place in the eleven. Throughout the calendar year, Marsh was Australia’s best batsman in the shortest format, improving his game quickly and at number three, particularly against spin and when it came to rotating strikes. He scored 627 runs in 21 matches at an average of 36.88 and also took 8 wickets.

Read also | ICC congratulates Marais Erasmus for umpiring 100 ODIs

The eleven announced by the ICC include Pakistan’s left-arm fast bowler Shaheen Afridi, England opener Jos Buttler, South African left-arm spinner Tabrez Shamsi, batsmen Aiden Markram and David Miller, Australia pacer Josh Hazlewood, Sri Lankan leg-spinner Wanindu Hasaranga and Bangladesh. Left arm fast bowler Mustafizur Rahman.

ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Year: Jos Buttler, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Babar Azam (c), Aiden Markram, Mitchell Marsh, David Miller, Tabrez Shamsi, Josh Hazlewood, Oneindu Hasranga, Mustafizur Rahman and Shaheen Afridi.

get all IPL news and cricket score Here