Long jumper B Aishwarya jumps 6.73m, all-time second best by an Indian woman

Karnataka’s B Aishwarya made the second best effort by an Indian woman in the long jump by jumping 6.73m in the qualification round on the third day of the National Inter-State Senior Athletics Championships here on Sunday.

The 24-year-old improved 21cm from her earlier personal best of 6.52m, which she achieved when she won gold at the National Open Championships in September last year.

His effort is second only to the legendary World Championship bronze winner Anju Bobby George’s national record of 6.83m.

Aishwarya surpasses the Commonwealth Games qualifying standard of 6.50m set by the Athletics Federation India (AFI). She also bettered the meet record of 6.63m set by Mayukha Johnny in 2011. However, there was no wind speed reading during the qualification round.

In another shocking result, national record holder Jyoti Yaraji fell to complete the race in the women’s 100m hurdles final as she fell on the track after crossing the last hurdle. Tamil Nadu’s C Kanimozhi won the race in 13.62s, outside the AFI’s CWG qualifying standard of 13.11s.

Jyoti clocked 13.04 in a race in the Netherlands last month, which was the second time she had bettered her own national record.

The men’s 110m hurdles was won by national record holder Siddhant Thingalaya with a timing of 13.93 seconds.

Asian record holder Tajinderpal Singh Toor of Punjab won the gold medal in the men’s shotput in his final round throw with an effort of 20.34m, which was 16cm short of the CWG qualifying distance of 20.50m set by the AFI.

National record holder Annu Rani of Uttar Pradesh easily won the women’s javelin throw event with a distance of 60.97 metres, well above the CWG standard of 59.50 metres.

The high jump gold was bagged by Maharashtra’s Sarvesh Anil Kushare as he covered 2.24m, three centimeters short of the Commonwealth Games qualifying mark.

Parul Choudhary beat her Uttar Pradesh partner Sudha Singh in the women’s 3000m steeplechase with a time of 9:42.16, while Haryana’s Balkishan won the men’s event with a timing of 8:42.34.

read all breaking news , today’s fresh news watch top videos And live TV Here.