IPL 2024, MI vs CSK: Matheesha Pathirana Dismisses Ishan Kishan and Suryakumar Yadav in Same Over | WATCH – News18

Last Updated:

IPL 2024, MI vs CSK: Matheesha Pathirana (BCCI)

IPL 2024, MI vs CSK: Matheesha Pathirana (BCCI)

Matheesha Pathirana dimissed Ishan Kishan and Suryakumar Yadav in the same over.

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) star bowler Matheesha Pathirana struck twice and that too in the same over to send back Ishan Kishan and Suryakumar Yadav of Mumbai Indians (MI) in their Indian Premier League (IPL) at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Sunday.

IPL 2024: Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings – LIVE

On the first ball of the eight over, Matheesha Pathirana got the wicket of Ishan Kishan. Pathirana bowled it full ball on the middle stump as Ishan tried to flick the ball but ended up hitting it aerially and straight to mid-wicket where Shardul Thakur took a sharp catch. In fact, Ishan Kishan found the only fielder inside the ring and had to walk back.

Then on the third ball of the same over, Matheesha Pathirana dismissed Suryakumar Yadav. Pathirana banged it short outside off as Suryakumar opened the face of the bat, looking to deliberately play it to third man. Mustafizur Rahman was fine enough though but had fo a lot of work. He took a couple of steps behind and with the boundary ropes right behind him, the Bangladesh pacer managed to juggle the ball and complete the catch.


Stay updated with the latest from IPL 2024, including top contenders for the IPL 2024 Orange Cap and IPL 2024 Purple Cap. Explore the complete IPL 2024 ScheduleIPL 2024 Points Table and players with the Most SixesMost Fours and Most Fifties in IPL 2024

Earlier, CSK’s Shivam Dube and skipper Ruturaj Gaikwad struck stroke-filled half-centuries as the five-time champions scored 206/4 from their 20 overs. Dube slammed an unbeaten 66 off 38 deliveries, while Gaikwad smashed a 40-ball 69, including five maximums, as the duo put up a 90-run stand after CSK had lost openers Ajinkya Rahul (5) and Rachin Ravindra (21) cheaply.

For MI, Gerald Coetzee, Shreyas Gopal and Hardik Pandya took one wicket each, while Romario Shepherd was taken to the cleaners, conceding 33 runs in two overs.

(With inputs from Agencies)