Indira Marathon: Runners of Indian Army won the first 3 places. Allahabad News – Times of India


Prayagraj: The finishing line on the tracks of Madan Mohan Malviya Stadium in Sangam city saw new winners in the 36th edition of the All India Competition this year. Indira Gandhi Prize Money Marathon was held on Friday. In the men’s section, runners from Army Sports Institute, Pune secured three positions.
In the men’s section, AB Valliappa (chest number 1202) won the run with a timing of 2:20:53. Similarly, Anil Kumar Singh (chest number 1017), who hails from Prayagraj and is currently posted at ASI Pune, finished second with 2:22:08. Het Ram of ASI, Pune secured the third position with a timing of 2:23:12. Het Ram had also finished third in this marathon held in 2019. By winning the marathon in the men’s section, Valliappa bagged a prize money of Rs 2,00,000, while the first runner-up was given Rs 1,00,000 and the second runner-up Rs 75,000.
In the women’s section, Gujarat’s Nirmaben Bharat Ji Thakur won the run with a timing of 2:50:41. She was followed by Aarti Patel of ASI, Pune, who finished second and completed the run with a timing of 2:55:29. Tamshi Singh of Mirzapur finished third with a timing of 2:59:59. Nirmaben has also been given a prize money of Rs 2,00,000 for winning the run in the women’s category. Earlier, Sports and Youth Welfare Minister Upendra Tiwari in the UP government flagged off the marathon.
Marathon is an annual event organized in the memory of former Prime Minister Indira Gandhi under the aegis of Directorate of Sports and District Administration of Uttar Pradesh. The district administration had made elaborate arrangements for the event. The marathon was flagged off from the historic Anand Bhawan gate at 6.30 am. The participants ran till the end of Madan Mohan Malviya Stadium via Teliarganj, Mayo Hall Crossing, High Court, CMP College, New Yamuna Bridge, Hanuman Mandir.
Runners ran with a computer chip attached to their shoes or clothing. This was done as per the Athletics Federation of India (AFI) rule which has made it mandatory in marathons.
In the evening, prize distribution ceremony was organized at Madan Mohan Malviya Stadium and Chief Guest Upendra Tiwari distributed the prizes. A cultural program was also organized in the felicitation ceremony.
Among the 500 male and female runners who participated in the 36th edition of Indira Marathon, a nine-year-old girl, Kajal Bind, gave special praise to all. Though the young talented contestant did not win any award, a resident of Lalitpur in Manda development block of Trans-Yamuna region of Prayagraj successfully completed a run of 42.195 kms in 3 hrs 30 mins which impressed everyone with her stamina and long distance passion. Impressed. to run Kajal is a third grade student of Meja’s Saraswati Gyan Mandir.