India’s Squad for Zimbabwe T20Is Announcement Live Updates: Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar, Yash Dayal in Contention; Seniors to be Rested – News18

Last Updated: June 23, 2024, 07:27 IST

India’s squad for Zimbabwe T20Is announcement live: The Ajit Agarkar-led BCCI selection committee is expected to meet today to pick India’s T20I squad for the Zimbabwe series that starts in the first week of July.  India will be touring Zimbabwe for a five-match series starting July 7 with all matches to be played at the Harare Sports Club. In all likeliness, it will be a new-look squad with the senior players to be rested on account of a busy first six months that includes the ongoing T20 World Cup.

CricketNext has learnt that BCCI has already collected the passports of a few players who will be flying to Zimbabwe for the series.

Among the players who are currently not part of India’s T20 World Cup campaign, Shubman Gill, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar among others are likely to be picked. There’s also a strong possibility that the likes of Hardik Pandya and Suryakumar Yadav will be rested meaning a there could be a surprise in the captaincy department.

This will be India’s fourth tour to Zimbabwe for a T20I series after having earlier visited the African nation in 2010, 2015 and 2016.

The Indian team, led by Rohit Sharma, is currently in the Caribbean region for the second round of the T20 World Cup. The former champions began their campaign with three wins out of four matches to in Group A (one match was abandoned without toss) to advance to the Super 8.

They have won their first two matches of the Super 8 stage and will next face Australia on Monday.

Stay updated with the latest from T20 World Cup 2024. Explore T20 World Cup Match Today. Check Updated list of Highest-run getters and Highest Wicket-Takers In T20 World Cup 2024. Check T20 World Cup 2024 Points Table and players with the Most Sixes, Most Fours , Most Fifties And Most HundredsIn T20 World Cup 2024.