India vs New Zealand 1st Test Day 1 Live Score Updates: India skipper Ajinkya Rahane wins the toss, opts to bat vs New Zealand at Kanpur. cricket news

IND vs NZ Test Score Updates: Ajinkya Rahane will lead the Indian team for the 1st Test vs New Zealand.© AFP

India vs New Zealand 1st Test, Day 1 India captain Ajinkya Rahane won the toss and elected to bat in the first Test of the two-match series being played at Green Park in Kanpur on Thursday. Both the teams have included three specialist spinners in their playing XI. Shreyas Iyer is making his Test debut for India in the first game and is likely to bat in the middle order in the absence of regular skipper Virat Kohli. This is also the first Test for Team India under new coach Rahul Dravid where many big names like regular captain Virat Kohli, batsman Rohit Sharma, pacers Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami and wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant are missing from the team. Kohli will join the team in the second Test in Mumbai and lead the side while Ajinkya Rahane will lead the side for the first Test. Rahane last captained India in three Tests during the tour of Australia, where his youth brigade defeated the Tim Paine-led side for the second time in a row. The last time these two sides met in a Test match was in June this year when the Blackcaps won the inaugural World Test Championship trophy. ,live scorecard,

India vs New Zealand 1st Test, Day 1 Live Cricket Score Directly from Green Park, Kanpur

  • 09:02 (actual)

    India won the toss, opted to bat vs New Zealand!

    India captain Ajinkya Rahane has won the toss and elected to bat against New Zealand in Kanpur.

  • 08:22 (actual)

    India vs New Zealand: Face to face in Tests!

    The two sides have faced each other in 60 Test matches, with India on top with 21 wins and New Zealand with 13 wins.

  • 08:13 (actual)

    Ashwin Eyes Kumble, Harbhajan Records!

    Ravichandran Ashwin, with 413 wickets, is India’s fourth-highest wicket-taker in the longest format of the game. Ashwin has an excellent record at home, and is likely to surpass Harbhajan Singh (417 wickets) in the list. Also, Ashwin needs another 10 wickets to equal Anil Kumble’s record for most 10-fers by an Indian bowler. He has taken seven 10 wickets in the longest format as compared to Kumble’s 8.

  • 08:07 (actual)

  • 08:00 (actual)

    Hello and welcome!

    Hello and welcome to the live blog of the first day of the first test match between India and New Zealand which will start soon at Green Park, Kanpur. Ajinkya Rahane is set to lead the Indian team again in the absence of regular skipper Virat Kohli, who was rested for the first Test. This will also be the first Test match of Team India under the leadership of new coach head coach Rahul Dravid. For New Zealand, their regular captain Kane Williamson will return to the team after a break. The Blackcaps have won all of the last three Test matches against India, including the final of the World Test Championship in Southampton.

    The match will start at 9:30 AM IST while the toss will be held at 9:00 AM IST.

Topics mentioned in this article