India T20I Squad Likely to Leave for Zimbabwe on July 1 From Mumbai – News18

Selectors could pick both Shubman Gill and Yashasvi Jaiswal into the T20 WC squad. (Image: AFP)

Selectors could pick both Shubman Gill and Yashasvi Jaiswal into the T20 WC squad. (Image: AFP)

The High Performance Camp for targeted players at the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru also ends today

India’s T20I squad for the five T20Is vs Zimbabwe is likely to leave for Zimbabwe on July 1. The 15-member squad will directly assemble in Mumbai now as the High-Performance Camp at the National Cricket Academy (NCA) in Bengaluru for targeted players also culminates today.

Some players from the camp have already left for Chennai to participate in the ongoing first division league while others are likely to head home on Tuesday. Both Riyan Parag and Dhruv Jurel, named in India’s T20I squad and part of the camp, have checked out of the NCA during the weekend and are likely to spend close to a week at Rajasthan Royals’ high-performance center in Talegaon.

India Tour of Zimbabwe: Shubman Gill Captain; Abhishek Sharma, Riyan Parag, 3 Others Receive Maiden T20I Call-ups

Yashasvi Jaiswal, Sanju Samson, Rinku Singh and Khaleel Ahmed’s travel schedule will be finalised after the end of India’s T20 World Cup campaign. If the Men in Blue play the final on June 29, the four players are likely to fly directly from West Indies to Zimbabwe.

As far as captain Shubman Gill is concerned, it is learnt that he hasn’t returned to India yet and is likely to link-up with the squad directly in Zimbabwe. There could well be a last-minute change in travel plan but as of now, he is unlikely to return to the country.

The 24-year-old was part of the four travelling reserves for the T20 World Cup but the team management decided to release Gill and Avesh Khan after the India vs Canada game in Florida. While Avesh returned home, Gill stayed back in the US for some commercial commitments. The youngster was spotted at the Nike headquarters in Oregon last week.

The new-look Indian side will play five T20Is during their tour of Zimbabwe and all five games will be played in Harare.

India T20I squad: Shubman Gill (Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Abhishek Sharma, Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson (WK), Dhruv Jurel (WK), Nitish Reddy, Riyan Parag, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Khaleel Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar, Tushar Deshpande

Stay updated with the latest from T20 World Cup 2024. Explore T20 World Cup Match Today. Check Updated list of Highest-run getters and Highest Wicket-Takers In T20 World Cup 2024. Check T20 World Cup 2024 Points Table and players with the Most Sixes, Most Fours , Most Fifties And Most HundredsIn T20 World Cup 2024.