IND vs SA, 1st Test: Rishabh Pant breaks MS Dhoni’s record, becomes fastest Indian wicketkeeper to complete 100 dismissals

Flamboyant India wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant achieved a major milestone on day three of the first Test against South Africa at Centurion’s SuperSport Park. Pant has surpassed Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Wriddhiman Saha as the fastest Indian wicketkeeper to score 100 Test dismissals. Pant achieved a major milestone in his 26th Test when he caught Temba Bavuma behind the stumps. Whereas MS Dhoni and Saha took 36-36 Tests to reach this figure.

100 wicketkeeper dismissals in Tests (India):

26 – Rishabh Pant

36 – MS Dhoni / Wriddhiman Saha

39 – Kiran More

41 – Nayan Mongia

42 – Syed Kirmani

India vs South Africa: full coverage , photos , the schedule , result

The 24-year-old has taken three catches in the first innings of South Africa’s opening Test so far – Dean Elgar, Wynn Mulder and Temba Bavuma. He has taken 92 catches and 8 stumpings in his Test career so far. Dhoni is ahead of Syed Kirmani (198), Kiran More (130), Nayan Mongia (107) and Wriddhiman Saha (104) with 294 in the number of dismissals.

Pant made his Test debut for India in 2018 and it didn’t take long for him to become an integral part of the established India Test with his explosive batting down the order. He played a key role in India’s 2-1 Test series win in Australia Down Under earlier this year. He was also adjudged the first ICC Player of the Month in January this year.

Read also: ICC announces nominees for Men’s Test Player of the Year

However, the wicket-keeper batsman did not have the best of time with the bat on Tuesday as he was dismissed for just 8 runs by Lungi Ngidi. Pant’s dismissal was a carbon copy of Cheteshwar Pujara where an angular delivery went up and it was a simple bat-pad catch to forward short leg.

South Africa bundled out India for 327 in their first innings at SuperSport Park.

Starting the day at 272/3, the Indian batsmen could only add 55 runs to their overnight score and lost seven wickets early in the morning session.

KL Rahul (123 out of 260) and Mayank Agarwal (60 off 123) were the top scorers for India, while Lungi Ngidi (6/71) and Kagiso Rabada (3/72) were the main wicket-takers for the Proteas.

get all IPL news and cricket score Here