Fans Lambast Star Sports For Including 8 Indians In ODI Team Of The Year, Big Names Missing

With the ODI World Cup 2023 done and dusted, Star Sports came up with their ODI team of the year which received a lot of criticism from fans and pundits.

Releasing the TOTY on Wednesday, Star Sports included a total of 8 players from the Indian cricket team.

With Australia turning out to be the World cup champions at the end of the tournament, the player of the final Travis Head was missing from the team as well which came as a shock to many.

The winning team of Australia only had one of their players – Adam Zampa in the list who was among the leading wicket takers of the tournament.

New Zealand’s upcoming star Rachin Ravindra was also missing from the team even after scoring 3 centuries in the tournament.

His teammate Daryll Mitchell however, made the eleven after scoring 2 centuries against India.

ODI Team Of The Year (Star Sports)

Rohit Sharma (India)
Shubman Gill (India)
Virat Kohli (India)
Daryl Mitchell (New Zealand)
KL Rahul (India)
Heinrich Klaasen (South Africa)
Adam Zampa (Australia)
Kuldeep Yadav (India)
Mohammed Shami (India)
Mohammed Siraj (India)
Jasprit Bumrah (India)

While Team India performed well throughout the tournament, pundits and fans felt that the decision was biased considering the jury choosing the best eleven consisted of Indians.

Players like Virat Kohli, who got the player of the tournament as well, got his deserving spot in the team.

Australian players who starred in tournament, namely Glenn Maxwell whose blazing double hundred against Afghanistan lit the tournament on fire, or Mitchell Marsh whose contributions with both bat and ball proved to be influential in the team’s success were missing in the list which came to the disappointment of many of the fans.

Also Read:IOA Forms Ad Hoc Committee To Oversee Suspended WFI Matters