Elections 2022 Live Updates: BJP Back With A Bang With Biggest-Ever Win in Gujarat; Congress Takes Himachal’s Throne, To Chose CM Today

In Gujarat, the Congress came second by winning 17 seats, while the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) won 5 seats, starting with a vigorous campaign. Independents won three seats and the Samajwadi Party won one seat.

The Congress recorded its worst ever performance in Gujarat as the AAP took away some of the opposition’s vote share.

The current Gujarat Chief Minister Bhupendra Patel is all set to return for his second term and take oath on December.

In Himachal, the BJP came second by winning 25 seats, followed by independent candidates who won 3 seats. The AAP failed to open its account, while the CPI(M) also failed to win any seats, while its sitting MLA from Theog lost. Himachal Pradesh has not voted any government into power since 1985.

Meanwhile, the winning party in Himachal is yet to finalize its winning candidate, and a meeting is likely to be held at the Shimla headquarters on Friday to take a final decision.

gujarat election result

Prime Minister Narendra Modi said Gujarat listened to him when he asked the people to break his record, in return giving the BJP the biggest mandate in the state’s electoral history. He also said that he had promised the people that he would work hard so as to “break Bhupendra Narendra’s record”, for a high tally for the Bhupendra Patel-led state government during his relentless campaign ahead of the assembly elections. With reference to his call.

I had told the people of Gujarat that this time Narendra’s record should be broken. I promised that Narendra will work hard so that Bhupendra can break Narendra’s record. Gujarat has broken all records by giving the biggest mandate to BJP in its history.

The PM said that Gujarat has created history by showering love on the BJP despite the party being in power in the state for 25 years. He said that the support to BJP shows that people’s anger against dynasty and corruption is increasing. He said that people had voted for BJP because it was providing all facilities to the poor and middle class at the earliest.

himachal pradesh election result

Outgoing Chief Minister Jairam Thakur submitted his resignation to Governor Rajendra Vishwanath Arlekar. “I respect the mandate. In a short while, I am going to submit my resignation to the governor.”

Independent candidates won three seats. The AAP failed to open its account, while the CPI(M) also failed to win any seats, while its sitting MLA from Theog lost. AAP got 1.10 percent, CPI(M) 0.66 percent, BSP 0.35 percent and independents and others 10.39 percent while NOTA got 0.59 percent votes.

The counting of votes for the 68-member assembly began at 8 am.

This time the BJP’s slogan was “Raj nahi, rivaj badlega”, which means, “tradition will change, not the government”.

In their addresses to party workers in Delhi after the election results were announced, both Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP chief JP Nadda highlighted the less than one per cent difference between the vote share of the Congress and the BJP.

On Himachal Pradesh, the Prime Minister said that the BJP will continue to work to fulfill the aspirations of the state and will take up the issues of the people in the times to come.

According to Election Commission of India data, the BJP got 53 per cent votes in Gujarat, the Congress 27 per cent and the AAP 13 per cent. The BJP had won 147 seats and was leading in nine seats in the 182-member state assembly.

For the Congress, a victory in Himachal Pradesh was a must for a revival as it has been plagued by electoral defeats over the past few years.

On November 12, around 76.44 per cent voters exercised their franchise. Altogether 412 candidates are in the fray, including 24 women and 99 independents.

read all latest politics news Here