Congress wins a keen battle in Himachal Pradesh

After a close contest, which Prime Minister Narendra Modi outlined as a vote-share difference of “less than 1 per cent”, the Congress edged out the BJP in Himachal Pradesh with 40 seats in the 68-member assembly. The BJP, which secured a vote share of 43 per cent against the Congress’ 43.9 per cent, managed to win only 25 seats, largely because of more than 21 rebels who cut into the party’s votes in big districts including Kangra, Mandi and Kullu. ,

Though the Congress too was facing a leadership crisis following the demise of charismatic former Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh, its various leaders – Pratibha Singh, Mukesh Agnihotri and Sukhwinder Singh ‘Sukhu’ – managed to mount a united campaign after stern warnings from the Congress. Rahul Gandhi, who said that a leader will be elected only if the party is successful in winning the elections. Congress has called a meeting of the newly elected MLAs.

We thank the people of Himachal Pradesh for this decisive mandate. We will fulfill all our promises,” tweeted Rahul Gandhi. Among the important poll promises is the implementation of the old pension scheme, which holds significance with government employees forming a significant chunk of opinion makers in the state.

rebel vs bjp

The BJP was riddled with various factions, represented by party chief JP Nadda and Chief Minister Jairam Thakur on the one hand and Union minister Anurag Singh Thakur on the other. This affected ticket distribution following which at least 21 candidates revolted across the state.

For example, in Kangra district, Vipin Nehria, the state vice-president of the BJP’s ST Morcha, rebelled against the BJP’s official candidate from the Dharamshala seat. Nehriya secured 7,332 votes in the constituency, while the difference between the winner, Congress candidate Sudhir Sharma, and BJP’s official candidate Rakesh Kumar was just 3,126 votes. Hoshiar Singh, who won the election as an independent in the last election and later joined the BJP, was in the fray as a rebel in Dehra. Singh won the Dehra seat with 22,563 votes.

Similarly, in Kullu district, Ram Singh was a rebel against the BJP’s Narottam Singh from the Kullu constituency. Narottam Singh lost the seat to Sundar Singh Thakur of INC by less than 5,000 votes, while Ram Singh won 11,790 votes as an independent. In Hamaripur district, Sanjeev Kumar contested as a BJP rebel in the Barsar constituency, which was won by the Congress.