BJP set to break all records with staggering Gujarat victory, Congress hopes bright in Himachal

Thursday’s assembly election results in Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh gave a glimpse of the national political landscape – Ek Dabbawa BJP ready to do my best Gujarat With over 53 per cent vote share and close to 154 sets in the 182-member Gujarat Assembly, while results were still being counted.

Congress Ultimately it looked like it was going to manage toe-to-toe after a neck-and-neck fight in Himachal Pradesh, with a vote share in 38 of the 68-member assembly almost equal to the BJP’s 43.4 per cent. It was looking to secure 43.3 per cent vote share and 27 seats as the results were still being counted. Newcomer Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) may not have won more seats in Gujarat, but was poised to make huge gains at around 13 per cent vote share and was ahead in six constituencies.

Related Stories
Celebrations begin in Gujarat as BJP gears up for an unprecedented performance

However, in Himachal Pradesh, the BJP seems to be struggling for power as the Congress is leading in 37 out of 68 seats.

But the BJP carried the day and looked like it was ready to undo former Congress chief minister Madhavsinh Solanki’s stupendous election victory in 1985, in which he swept Kshatriyas, Harijans, Adivasis and Muslims through his ingenious social engineering. Had secured 149 seats in Gujarat. KHAM) communities and 28 per cent reservation for OBCs. As soon as the results came, BJP was ahead in 151 seats. Even after being in power for 27 consecutive years in Gujarat, the BJP has not been able to manage such a massive mandate, even though the most popular political leader is Narendra Modi. Was the Chief Minister of the state thrice.

moving forward

There are reasons for the BJP to break its own record in Gujarat this time, especially after a close shave in the 2017 assembly elections when the Congress fought hard on the back of an agitation for reservations by Patidars and there was widespread discontent. GST implementation and demonetisation. The Congress had managed to get 77 seats in the last election and restricted the BJP to 99 seats in 2017.

However, in this election, the BJP has dusted off the remnants of the initial GST troubles and post-demonetisation anger, and wooed back the Patidars, a community that had formed in the 1980s as a response to Madhavsinh Solanki’s botched mobilization. The script for the rise of the party was written. Patidar leader Hardik Patel, who led a popular uprising with the community organisation, Patidar Anamat Andolan Samiti (PAAS), supporting him, is contesting on a BJP ticket from Viramgam constituency and is leading by a considerable margin of votes till the final result. Were walking ahead of. counted.

Alpesh Thakor, another popular community leader who led a counter-mobilisation by the Thakor army in 2015-16 against any move to divest the 27 per cent OBC reservation in response to Patidar reservation demands, also won the election. Fighting and leading one on one. BJP ticket from Gandhinagar South in the current election. Overall, the BJP has skilfully managed the caste contradictions that divided its votes in 2017.

Another important reason for BJP’s progress this time is the division of opposition votes due to the entry of Aam Aadmi Party. The Congress, which had secured over 41 per cent vote share in 2017 giving a tough fight to the BJP, looked like it was going to be reduced to 27 per cent of the total votes after the results were out on Thursday. The split has been caused by AAP, which was close to 13 per cent of the vote share.

The AAP led an energetic campaign in Gujarat in comparison to the Congress, which looked otherwise busy with Rahul Gandhi abstaining from campaigning extensively and with his Bharat Jodo tour. The Congress forged a major caste alliance in 2017 with Hardik Patel, Alpesh Thakur and Jignesh Mevani. The AAP, on the other hand, campaigned fiercely with Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal making several visits to the state and making a flurry of announcements. Freebies in Gujarat – 300 units of free electricity, ₹1,000 monthly allowance for women, ₹3,000 unemployment allowance and others.

himachal vote

opposite of this, Himachal A close contest was witnessed between the Congress and the BJP, both having their own problems as the BJP faced infighting after several MLAs were shifted from their constituencies and 11 were denied tickets. The Congress simultaneously faced a leadership problem following the demise of former CM Virbhadra Singh but is expected to benefit from the anti-incumbency wave against the BJP government. 21 seats had rebel BJP candidates – those contesting as independents after being denied party tickets.

Shimla: Media and Congress party workers outside the residence of the party's Himachal Pradesh in-charge Pratibha Singh.

Shimla: Media and Congress party workers outside the residence of the party’s Himachal Pradesh in-charge Pratibha Singh.

For example, in Kangra district, Vipin Nehria, the state vice-president of the BJP’s ST Morcha, rebelled against the BJP’s official candidate from the Dharamshala seat. Nehriya was set to secure over 6,000 votes in the constituency, while Congress candidate Sudhir Sharma was ahead in a close contest over official BJP candidate Rakesh Kumar by around 3,000 votes. In Dehra, Hoshiar Singh, who won the election as an independent in the last election and later joined the BJP, was in the fray as a rebel.

Here Hoshiar Singh is leading by 21,357 votes, while BJP’s official candidate Ramesh Chand is set to get around 14,395 votes. Former MP from Fatehpur, Kirpal Parmar, who was expelled from the party, is contesting as a rebel. In Fatehpur too, the Congress was leading with its Bhavani Singh Pathania getting around 20,169 votes till the last count.

These elections are unlikely to change the political landscape significantly, but the Congress is hoping for a respite in Himachal, while the BJP has proved its political might in taking on Arvind Kejriwal, clearly a resurgent.