BJP MLA Krishna Kalyani joins Trinamool Congress, fifth MLA will change

Raiganj BJP MLA Krishna Kalyani joined the Trinamool Congress on Wednesday. Kalyani is the fifth BJP MLA in West Bengal to join the TMC after winning the assembly elections earlier this year, in a major setback to the opposition party. He is a former Uttar Dinajpur district president of TMC, who had joined the BJP before the assembly elections and was fielded from Raiganj.

Kalyan, who has been accompanying former Union minister Debashree Choudhary to run the BJP’s affairs in North Dinajpur district for a long time, was received by TMC general secretary and senior state minister Partha Chatterjee.

“No self-respecting person can work independently in the BJP,” Kalyani told reporters at the TMC headquarters here. He said he was also troubled by the “anti-people policies” of the Centre, which has not taken a single step to investigate. Rise in fuel prices.

“I was thinking fast that I could no longer be a part of the BJP. Had I not spoken in favor of Mamata Banerjee’s welfare policies before the assembly elections, I had committed a mistake which I want to rectify now. in the BJP,” he alleged.

Reacting to the development, BJP state president Sukanta Majumdar said that Kalyani should explain how he suddenly “wake up” to Mamata Banerjee’s policies. “In future, Kalyani will get a befitting reply from the people of Raiganj,” Majumdar said. That he joined TMC to serve his personal interest.

Kalyani had quit the BJP earlier this month, but did not resign as an MLA. Earlier, BJP’s Krishnanagar North MLA Mukul Roy, Bishnupur MLA Tanmay Ghosh, Baghda MLA Vishwajit Das and Kaliaganj MLA Soumen Roy besides Asansol MP Babul Supriyo joined the TMC.

The MLAs are yet to resign from the assembly or be disqualified under the anti-defection law, while Supriyo has resigned. The BJP had won 77 seats in the assembly elections, with two MLAs – Dinhata MLA Nisith Pramanik and Shantipur MLA Jagannath Sarkar, who later resigned to retain their MP seats.

The TMC had won 213 seats in the April-May assembly elections and had won Samsarganj and Janipur seats earlier this month, taking its tally to 215 in the 294-member house.

read all breaking news, breaking news And coronavirus news Here. follow us on Facebook, Twitter And Wire.