HomePoliticsBhabnipur will decide Mamta's fate today. Here's a look at CM's...

Bhabnipur will decide Mamta’s fate today. Here’s a look at CM’s home turf demographics and other statistics

Chief Minister of West Bengal Mamata BanerjeeThe fate of the state cabinet will be decided by his home constituency Bhabnipur, where the bypolls will be held on Thursday. Banerjee has been pitted against Priyanka Tibrewal of the BJP and Shrijib Biswas of the CPI(M). The Congress has not fielded any candidate for the by-election. The results will be counted on October 3.

Bhabnipur, which has over 2 lakh voters, is the chief minister’s residence in Kalighat. She has represented the seat twice in the assembly and is aiming for a third victory, which is crucial for her to remain in the top post, when she was marginalized by Suvendu Adhikari, leader of the ally-turned-Suvendu Adhikari in Nandigram. Lost by margin. Opposition in Bengal Assembly

The bypoll was necessitated after TMC leader Sovandeb Chatterjee, who won the seat in the April-May assembly elections, resigned, paving the way for Banerjee to contest from the constituency and retain her cabinet berth.

Before the by-election, tight security arrangements With the deployment of 15 companies of central forces were stationed in Bhabnipur. Prohibitory orders under section 144 of CrPC were also imposed within 200 meters of the polling stations.

Here’s a look at the important stats of Bhawanipur:

– Total number of voters: 2,62,570.

Non-Bengali voters make up 43% of the population spread across eight wards. Here’s the breakup: Ward 63: 98%; Ward 70: 63%; Ward 71: 40%; Ward 72: 30%; Ward 73: 40%; Ward 74: 50%; Ward 77: 10%; Ward 82: 20%

There are 98 polling stations and 287 booths. There will be 3 personnel of central forces at each booth.

Apart from 23 mobile vans, heavy radio flying squad will also be deployed.

There will be a provision to watch the action live by the Election Commission through webcast at all the booths.

Bhawanipur past polling history

The voting percentage of Bhabnipur in the 2021 assembly elections was 61.36 percent. In this election, TMC got 73,505 votes registering 57.71 percent, while BJP got 44,786 votes, which is 35.16 percent. The Congress got only 5,211 votes, which is just 4 percent.

In the 2016 election, TMC got 65,520 votes (47.67 per cent), while Congress came second with 40,219 votes (29.26 per cent). The BJP came third with 26,299 votes (19.13 per cent).

In the 2011 election, the TMC got 73,635 votes (77.46 per cent), while the Left got 19,422 votes (20.43 per cent).

read all breaking news, breaking news And coronavirus news Here


- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments