A Look at Padma Awardees Mulayam Singh, SM Krishna’s Decades-long Political Journey

Last Update: January 25, 2023, 22:38 IST

The Government of India on Wednesday announced the list of Padma awardees 2023.

The Government of India on Wednesday announced the list of Padma awardees 2023.

Mulayam Singh Yadav’s name is synonymous with the rich political history of Uttar Pradesh, while SM Krishna served several terms as an MLA and MP from Karnataka.

Former Chief Ministers of Uttar Pradesh and Karnataka – the late Mulayam Singh Yadav and SM Krishna – will be honored with the Padma Vibhushan, the second highest civilian award, for their decades of work in public affairs. government of India The list of Padma awardees 2023 was announced on Wednesday.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi Congratulations to the Padma awardees. He said that India cherishes their rich and varied contributions to the nation and their efforts to enhance our development trajectory.

‘Neta-ji’ – socialist leader, grassroots worker

Socialist leader, grassroots activist, ‘Neta-ji’ for leaders across the political spectrum and a politician synonymous with the rich political history of Uttar Pradesh – Mulayam Singh Yadav breathed his last on October 10, 2022 at the age of 82.

Yadav’s five-decade long political journey saw many ups and downs, with many allies and disagreements along the way. Born in 1939 in an agricultural family in Saifai village of Uttar Pradesh’s Etawah district, Yadav wanted to become a wrestler but was interested in academics and eventually became a teacher in a government college. In 1967, he entered the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly for the first time from Ram Manohar Lohia’s Samyukta Socialist Party. A day later, he joined Chaudhary Charan Singh’s Bharatiya Kranti Dal. However, this party merged with the United Socialist Party and formed the Bharatiya Lok Dal. After the Emergency (1975–1977), the Bharatiya Lok Dal merged with the Janata Dal.

He became a minister for the first time in 1977. He took over as the State President of the Lok Dal in 1980 and was the Leader of the Opposition in the Council from 1982 to 1987. In 1989, he became the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh for the first time. He founded the Samajwadi Party in 1992. He served as the Chief Minister of UP for the second time between 1993-95. In 1996, he contested the Lok Sabha elections for the first time from Mainpuri and became the Defense Minister.

In 2003, he took oath as the CM of UP for the third time. After the SP’s defeat in the 2007 elections, he became the Leader of the Opposition in the UP State Assembly. In 2019, he became the Member of Parliament (for the seventh time) from Mainpuri.

SM Krishna’s long journey, from CM to Governor, to EAM, from Congress to BJP

Born on May 1, 1932, Somanahalli Malaiya Krishna served as the Chief Minister of Karnataka from October 1999 to May 2004. A graduate of Maharaja’s College, Mysore, he obtained a law degree from Government Law College, Bangalore. He also studied at Southern Methodist University, Dallas, USA and later at George Washington University.

Krishna was elected to the Karnataka Legislative Assembly in 1962 as an independent candidate and made his debut in Parliament in 1968 and later joined the Congress. In 1972, he returned to state politics and became a member of the Legislative Council. He was inducted as the Minister of Commerce, Industry and Parliamentary Affairs, a charge he held between 1972 and 1977.

In 1980, he returned to the Lok Sabha and was made Minister of State for Industry during 1983–84 and Minister of State for Finance during 1984–85. He again entered state politics in 1989 and became the Speaker of the Karnataka Legislative Assembly in 1989. Later in 1992, he became the Deputy Chief Minister of Karnataka. In 1999, he took over as the Chief Minister of Karnataka. According to Raj Bhavan Maharashtra, Krishna was sworn in as the Governor of Maharashtra on 6 December 2004.

After being elected to the Rajya Sabha in 2009, Krishna was inducted in the UPA government as the Minister of External Affairs. In 2012, Krishna resigned from the post of Union Minister. He campaigned for the Congress in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, but the party suffered a humiliating defeat.

Krishna joined the BJP in March 2017, ending his nearly 50-year-long association with the Congress. Earlier this month, 90-year-old Krishna announced that he was gradually withdrawing from public life and would be retiring from active politics.

read all latest politics news Here